[Review] Which DTH Service Provides Maximum HD Channels in India?

UPDATED on Aug 24, 2016: Addition of Sony Le Plex HD channel on Airtel.

Ever since we posted our exclusive reviews and comparisons between India's major DTH (Direct-To-Home) services and also shared secret tricks to access hidden service menus in their set top boxes, various readers have asked us about the availability of HD (High Definition) channels on different DTH platforms.

People regularly send us emails asking whether a particular HD channel is available on their desired DTH platform or not. So today we decided to post another exclusive review and comparison list of all HD channels available on all Indian DTH platforms.

In this topic we'll tell you how many HD TV channels are available in India and which DTH service provides the maximum number of HD channels to its subscribers. It'll help you in deciding which DTH service provider is best for you.

We have 7 DTH service providers in India:

  • Tata Sky
  • Dish TV
  • Airtel Digital TV (ADTV)
  • Videocon D2H
  • Reliance Digital TV (RDTV)
  • Sun Direct
  • DD Direct+ (now renamed to "DD Free Dish")

DD Direct+ aka Free Dish is a free-to-air satellite service in India, actually its the only FTA satellite service in India. It doesn't provide any HD channel.

Following is the exclusive list of all HD channels available in India along with their availability on above mentioned DTH platforms:

NOTE: We are counting only true HD channels here. Dish TV claims to have maximum HD channels but some of them are upscaled HD channels not true HD channels. Upscaled HD channels are modified versions of SD channels with a little higher bitrate but you'll not notice much difference between SD and upscaled HD channels. Upscaled HD channels will never provide high picture quality as true HD channels do.

NOTE: The plus sign '+' indicates availability of Dolby Digital (DD) Surround Sound.

HD Channel Name

Tata Sky

Dish TV

Airtel Digital TV

Videocon D2H

Reliance Digital TV

Sun Direct

Hindi GEC
Star Plus HD

Y+

Y+

Y+

Y+

Y

Y+

Sony HD

Y+

Y+

Y+

Y+

-

-

Zee TV HD

Y+

Y+

Y+

Y+

Y

-

Colors HD

Y+

Y

Y+

Y+

Y

-

Life OK HD

Y+

Y+

Y+

Y+

-

-

&TV HD

Y+

Y+

Y+

-

-

-

Epic HD

Y+

-

-

-

-

-

Hindi Movies
Star Gold HD

Y+

Y+

Y+

Y+

Y

-

Zee Cinema HD

Y+

Y+

Y

Y

-

-

&Pictures HD

Y+

Y+

Y

Y

-

-

Sony Max HD

Y+

Y+

Y+

Y+

-

-

Miniplex HD

Y

-

Y

-

-

-

English GEC
Star World HD

Y+

Y+

Y+

Y+

-

-

Star World Premiere HD

Y+

Y+

Y+

Y+

-

-

AXN HD

Y+

Y+

Y+

Y+

-

-

Comedy Central HD

Y+

Y

-

-

-

-

Colors Infinity HD

Y+

Y

Y+

Y+

-

-

Zee Cafe HD

Y+

Y+

Y+

-

-

-

FX HD

Y+

-

Y+

-

-

-

English Movies
Sony Pix HD

Y+

Y+

Y+

Y+

-

-

Sony Le Plex HD

Y+

-

Y

-

-

-

Star Movies HD

Y+

Y+

Y+

Y+

Y

Y+

Star Movies Select HD

Y+

Y

Y+

Y+

-

-

HBO Hits HD

Y+

Y

Y+

-

-

-

Zee Studio HD

Y+

Y+

Y+

Y+

-

Y

Movies NOW HD

Y+

-

Y+

-

-

-

MN+ (Movies NOW+) HD

Y+

Y+

Y+

Y+

-

Y+

Romedy NOW HD

Y+

-

Y+

-

-

-

Infotainment
Discovery HD World

Y+

Y

Y+

Y+

Y

Y+

TLC HD World

Y+

Y

-

Y

-

-

Animal Planet HD World

Y+

Y

-

-

-

Y+

National Geographic HD

Y+

Y+

Y+

Y+

-

Y+

History TV18 HD

Y+

Y

Y+

Y

-

-

FOX Life/Traveller HD

Y

Y+

Y

Y

-

-

Nat Geo Wild HD

Y+

Y

-

Y

-

-

Nat Geo People HD

Y

Y

-

-

-

-

Travel XP HD

Y

Y

-

Y

-

-

FYI TV18 HD

-

-

-

-

-

-

Sports
Star Sports HD1

Y+

Y

Y+

Y+

Y

Y+

Star Sports HD2

Y+

Y

Y+

Y+

Y

Y+

Star Sports HD3

Y+

Y

Y+

Y+

-

-

Star Sports HD4

Y+

Y

Y+

Y+

Y

-

Star Sports Select HD1

Y+

-

Y+

-

-

-

Star Sports Select HD2

Y+

-

Y+

-

-

-

Ten 1 HD

Y

Y

Y

Y

Y

Y

Ten Golf HD

Y

Y

-

-

-

-

Sony Six HD

Y+

Y+

Y

Y+

-

Y+

Sony ESPN HD

Y+

Y

Y+

-

-

Y+

Music
MTunes HD

Y+

Y

Y+

Y+

Y

-

MTV Indies HD

Y+

Y

-

Y+

Y

-

Nat Geo Music HD

Y

Y

-

-

-

-

VH1 HD

Y

-

-

-

-

-

English News
CNBC TV18 Prime HD

Y

Y

-

Y

-

-

News X HD

Y

-

-

-

-

-

Teleshopping
Naaptol HD

Y

Y

-

Y

-

-

Kids Entertainment
Baby TV HD

Y

Y

-

-

-

-

Nick HD+

Y

Y

Y

Y

-

-

Da Vinci Learning HD

Y

-

-

-

-

-

Regional
Sun TV HD

Y+

Y

Y+

Y+

-

Y+

Sun Music HD

Y+

Y

Y+

Y+

-

Y+

KTV HD

Y

Y

-

Y

-

Y

Star Vijay HD

Y+

-

Y+

-

-

-

Jaya TV HD

-

-

-

-

-

-

Gemini TV HD

Y+

Y

Y+

Y+

-

Y+

Maa TV HD

Y+

-

Y+

-

-

-

Asianet HD

Y+

-

Y+

Y+

-

-

Mazhavil Manorama HD

Y

-

Y

Y

-

-

Star Jalsha HD

Y+

-

Y+

-

-

-

Jalsha Movies HD

Y+

-

Y+

-

-

-

Colors Bangla HD

Y

-

Y

-

-

-

Colors Kannada HD

Y

-

Y

-

-

-

Colors Marathi HD

Y+

-

Y+

-

-

-

Star Pravah HD

Y+

-

Y+

-

-

-

Total HD Channels = 73

71

50

54

42

12

16

 

So if we look at the number, Tata Sky provides the maximum number of HD channels. Dish TV, Airtel Digital TV and Videocon D2H are close to it. Do we need to say anything about Reliance Digital TV and Sun Direct?

So the list of winners based on maximum number of HD channels is as following:

1st - Tata Sky (71)
2nd - Airtel Digital TV (54)
3rd - Dish TV (50)
4th - Videocon D2H (42)
5th - Sun Direct (16)
6th - Reliance Digital TV (12)
7th - DD Free Dish (or DD Direct+) (0)

NOTE: Most of the Zee Network HD channels don't provide Dolby Digital (DD) Surround Sound. Reliance Digital TV doesn't provide DD sound on any HD channel. DishTV provides DD sound on very less number of HD channels (only 20 channels). On the other hand, Tata Sky (53), Airtel (43), Videocon (29) and Sun Direct (13) provide DD sound on almost all available HD channels.

Exclusive HD Services List:

  • Tata Sky has launched exclusive Colors HD+1, Sony HD+1 and Zee TV HD+1 channels which broadcast TV shows with 1 hour delay of the same respective HD channels. It'll provide an opportunity to viewers to watch their favorite shows twice or immediately if they missed it by an hour.
  • Videocon has started 2 new VOD (Video-On-Demand) HD channels "D2H Cinema HD" and "D2H Hollywood HD" which telecast latest Bollywood and Hollywood movies in HD. But they don't provide DD Sound.
  • Tata Sky has launched 9 Showcase HD channels which are PPV (Pay-Per-View) channels and telecast latest Hollywood and Bollywood movies in HD but without DD sound.
  • Tata Sky has also launched 3 Star Sports Add On Service HD channels which are event-based channels and telecast live Football matches.
  • Airtel has launched 2 Airtel Movies HD channels which are PPV (Pay-Per-View) channels and telecast blockbuster movies in HD but without DD sound.
  • Dish TV has launched Dish Buzz HD channel which telecasts Dish TV offers, advertisements and promotions.

One more thing to add! Videocon D2H and Airtel Digital TV provide 24x7 3D channels "D2H 3D Channel HD" and "Airtel Movies" respectively which show programs and movies in 3D format. Tata Sky has also started showing 3D blockbusters on its event-based channel "Showcase 3D" but its not a permanent channel.

We'll update this list whenever new HD channels become available on any DTH platform, so keep checking this page regularly...





Share this article: Facebook | Twitter | Google+ | Reddit | Tell a friend

Posted in: Gadgets & Internet


Other similar articles that may interest you


Comments

  • Thanks a lot VG. It will help many people including me. :)

  • Hey VG , before the rebranding of Star Sports Network in Nov. 2013 , I do remember Star Cricket HD was available on Dish TV . As of current naming , has Star Sports HD1 also departed from the channel list....

  • I personally prefer Videocon D2H. During the rains too, the signal is great unless it's raining really heavily. Only regret is they still don't have Star Sports 2 in the SD stream. Which one do you use VG?

  • VG

    ^^ I have used Tata Sky +HD, Airtel Digital TV HD with recorder and Dish TV +HD in past. I have also tried Videocon D2H on my relative home but my favorite is Tata Sky. I'm using it at the moment and its the best. It has the best hardware and best software UI. ADTV also provides similar hardware and UI but TS is better. TS was lacking in HD channel section but now it has 24 HD channels and many are going to add soon.

    Videocon's hardware and UI is not very good IMO.

    @Addy
    Star Sports HD1 and HD2 not available on Dish TV.

  • Yes UI is important. Too bad I couldn't try the UI of all of them. Your life is jhingalala :D

  • VG

    ^^ lol.

  • thanks, using Tata Sky as well

    I noticed that, non-HD channel in Tata Sky costs even more than corresponding HD channel, example Star World.

  • I was very keen on getting dish TV ..but the fact that either star sports hd2 and hd1 are not there stings a little ..being a sports enthusiast!! Thank you VG :)

  • package paid but sports channel not received, videocon pls look into it

  • Hello
    I live in the Middle East and I have sat top box dish tv hd with Recorder
    Now I have a problam I do not get in my area NSS 6 I realize just asia sat 5
    I have a problem with updating software EPG I do not get NSS 6 so I can not Ladgn software or channels
    Can I update software EPG via PC or just with ASIA SAT 5?
    And if I can update the converter only channels are work by my country?
    Thank you...

  • There are only four grand-slam tennis events each year. This year Tata Sky has decided to punish tennis lovers by leaving them in the lurch and no one can watch the French Open Tennis. Dish TV is providing this on Neo Sports and Neo Prime.
    I wonder if Tata Sky would have done this to an IPL Cricket programme.
    Truly disgusted!

  • I want to say vg I'm using tata sky for 6 years now and I switched to tata sky hd 1 year ago but I requested tata sky to add some popular hd channels but they don't why it happens vg otherwise I didn't face any problem with tata sky in these six years

  • VG

    ^^ They'll not add any channel on your request. They'll add the channel only if the channel is in high demand or if the channel provider is providing money to Tata Sky.

  • Videocon d2h is gaining momentum between 2 giants of d2h service ..... I'm satisfied with it and do recommend them !

    Awesome Service !

  • how can i find new channels or auto search them in dd direct plus or free dish servissss .. thankyou.. vg..

  • VG

    ^^ You'll need to do following 2 things:

    1. Find the dish parameters of desired channels and move the dish antenna in correct position.
    2. Input those parameter values in STB and then search for channels.

  • Hey! If I want to install a new connection, what shall I go for? I have heard TATA sky doesn't work properly in rains ? Is it true? Is it good to buy Dish (tata or dish tv) or set top box (videocon or airtel digital) ?

    Kindly guide me.

  • VG

    ^^ There is no DTH company which provides signals in rain. You'll always have outage problems while its raining.

  • When Sun music HD will be available in Airtel DTH HD???

  • VG

    ^^ No official news but they may add it soon due to Diwali festival.

  • When did add V6 News & 10Tv & Express Tv & Gemini Life,Gemini News,Gemini Action,Kushi Tv,Vissa Tv,Cine21 On TataSky DTH Platform

  • VG

    ^^ Only Tata Sky knows. We cant wait for some days. Its possible that TS adds some new channels on Diwali.

  • Airtel dth best-true sound,pic and good customer service(18001028080/12150)
    tata sky -poor customer care and STB price high

  • Airtel dth had ala-carte pack,which give all chnls,
    any time add/remove,any chnls when need.

  • Pls let me know the price of Latest TopBox ok

    waiting for your reply soon ok

  • VG

    ^^ You can check DTH provider websites to know their set top box prices.

  • I M new to DTH HD world. plz let me know whether dish tv picture quality is good or not

  • VG

    ^^ Dish TV picture quality is good.

  • Hi VG i ve read Videocon provides 1080p signal whearas tata sky provides 1080i signal.
    Does this means Tata sky is not fulll HD but HD ready , and Videocon is full HD.

  • VG

    ^^ You'll not notice any difference in HD channels quality in any DTH.

  • Goodmorning,
    I am on south royale hd pack 599 activated in india and currently using in saudi arabia.
    We are getting only hd channels and need to add gemini hd into my pack.it is showing gemini hd and send DISHTV 93 to 57575 from the registered no.I have already forwarded the same bt telling me to add on hd packs.

    Please solve me the above issue.

    Regards
    Arif

  • I am shbscribing south platinum HD package, I find very difficult to operate RF controlled remote in videocon d2h, and it hangs often what to do, i have already changed my remote twice but problem persist. Thinking of switching over to dish TV.

  • Great and very useful list.
    For completeness, could you also update which of those are also broadcasted in Dolby Digital 5.1 Surround Sound? It would be a very very useful info. Also, the scenario keeps changing, channels get added/deleted. It would be best if the date on the which the list was made is also published.
    Thank you for the great work.

  • VG

    ^^ Thanks for the suggestion. I'll try to implement it. Regarding the update date/time, I can assure you that the list is immediately updated as soon as a DTH company adds a new HD channel.

    UPDATE: I have added some information about availability of DD sound on HD channels.

  • Asia's No 1 Network Dish Tv

  • Hi VG, today I bought Sony bravia. Planning to buy HD STB could you please help me for getting better HD STB. Which HD STB is the best in India

  • VG

    ^^ IMO Tata Sky provides the best STBs. You can also go with Airtel.

  • One more question. Which dth service providing quality HD channels? Please share your review.

  • VG

    ^^ HD channel quality is almost same in all DTH services.

  • I'm from chennai. I want only 11 HD channels which are all available in Sun direct. I'm planning to buy the same. What are the disadvantages of Sun Direct? Please share your review.

  • VG

    ^^ If you are satisfied with less numbers of HD channels, there should be no problem in going with Sun Direct.

  • please let us know when can we expect TLC on Sun DTH service?

  • Thanks VG, for useful information on your site and to maintain it regularly by new updates.
    Please help me know about Hathway HD services in Mumbai, does they offer true HD with DD surround.

  • VG

    ^^ As far as I know they do. Better to ask their CC or check their website.

  • Wow, didn’t realize DishTV had the maximum number of HD channels, I am DishTV subscriber but this is surprise to me, a pleasant one!

  • cost wise which is best economic in d2h services

    Why Dish TV having maximum HD channels. what is problem in tata sky & videocon having not.

  • VG

    ^^ DishTV doesnt have any TP space problem, so it provides so many HD channels. On the other hand, other DTH companies are having space problems to add channels.

  • The best comparison available on the net for Indian STv. I will remain with my 42 HD channels.

    Thought, I have a suggestion. If you could update above table with 5.1, DD Plus etc provided. You can use * or # if 5.1 is available for provider and channel.

    (I am afraid, I am asking too much, Thanks VG.)

  • VG

    ^^ Done. :)

  • You are doing a great job. Keep it up. I visit your website almost everyday to check any addition of new HD channels. Why don't you do a review of Videocon D2H also? If possible 4K as well.

  • Any idea when/whether Sun Music HD will be added in TATA SKY?

  • VG

    ^^ Now now but following HD channels are coming soon:

    &TV HD
    &Pictures HD
    AXN HD
    Fox Life HD

  • which company is providing cheap HD channels..

  • What about the price ?

  • IMO cost wise Videocon HD is the best. 35 HD channels (New South Platinum HD Pack) for Rs.590 per month. (Star world Premier costs another Rs.60/month).All other DTH providers are expensive and also they don't even have such option of opting for all HD channels in one pack.

  • Hi there;

    VG - Congrats on providing useful Tips to quickly know whats the best DTH HD ..

    We need a Connection in Coimbatore in Tamil Nadu.

    Do you think TATA SKY would be BEST deal , I decide so based on your reviews.

    Ppl do revert if you feel TATA SKY is not good in these areas, cos i recently heard some connect issues. I need your tips as you all seem genuine users. MOST reviews are by PAID TROLLS..!

    Thanks once again to ALL & VG.

    Much Regards

    AJ

  • VG

    ^^ Tata Sky service is quite good. Check the plans and channels in all DTH and go with the one which fits best for your requirements.

  • Hi there.

    VG - Firstly thanks for all the useful tips you provide us.
    I paid North HD royal pack on DISHTV but all the HD channels showing no signal.
    What do i have to do to get them working, do i have to add a transponder or frequencies or anything else. SD channels are good.
    By the way i'm in Afghanistan NSS 6

  • VG

    ^^ Sorry but I cant help much since you are not living in India. But you can try following:

    http://www.askvg.com/revealing-hidden-secret-service-menu-in-dish-tv-dth-set-top-box/

  • Thanks VG

  • when add sun music hd channel in tatasky platform

  • Nick HD

  • VG

    ^^ Yes. Nick HD+ is going to be added on Tata Sky very soon may be within this week.

    @THH
    Added yesterday.

  • By any chance , we can watch STAR VIJAY as HD channel near future!!!

  • VG

    ^^ At the moment no chance.

  • Why I didn't get HD channel in tatasky receiver?? Pls help me

  • plz update list

  • VG

    ^^ The list is already up to date. I updated it on Nov 06 and no new HD channel has been added on any DTH after that update.

  • Thankzzzzzzzzz

  • AnyBody tell me when this channel (Epic HD, FX HD, Miniplex HD, Nick HD+ ) add in DishTV.

  • VG

    ^^ No official information but Nick HD+ will launch at the end of this month or starting of December.

  • When HD channels namely Animal Planet HD, Epic HD, &TV HD, HBO Hits, HBO Defined, Miniplex, Zee Cafe HD, FXHD are being added in Videocon D2H. Also which are the other HD channels being launched in near future.

  • VG

    ^^ No official information about those HD channels addition on Videocon D2H. Regarding upcoming HD channels, following are a few:

    Sab HD
    Max HD
    Nick HD+
    Insight HD
    Romedy Now HD
    BBC Earth HD
    VH1 HD
    Mazhavil Manorama HD

  • VG, we know you from the very beginning for your great guide on Windows and Windows-based applications. Now, glad to know your help for choosing Dish connection too. Thanks VG.

  • videocon d2h no HD channel updates...?

  • VG

    ^^ Yeah. No HD channel addition on any DTH.

    @Laxmikant Bhumkar
    Thanks.

  • Okay..
    Thanks.

  • Hi;
    I have a question; recently i bought a Samsung 43" LED which supports Dolby/ DTS/5.1 sound. Is Airtel/Videocon provides 5.1/DD sound through HDMI or SDPIF/Coaxial? i dont want to buy HomeThetre, but need 5.1/DD sound on my TV.

  • VG

    ^^ Yes on a few HD channels.

  • Pls MinipleHD Ka logo change karo on Tatat Sky.
    pls add Set Max HD on Tata Sky.......................

  • Hi there, I have airtel HD set top box, since they don't have Animal planet HD, Nat geo wild HD, TLC HD so I want to change my service provider (Dish TV). Can I do the DTH portability? If yes then what is the procedure?

  • Hi VG,

    I am following you a lot for quite some time. In this segment I too have some concerns. I believe channels in India do not provide FHD quality. If we compare the picture quality which we watch in laptop (720p movies) it has brilliant picture and sound but same does not happen with DTH as all DTH have claimed that non-HD channels in HD set-top box provides 720p resolution which I believe is not true. What is your opinion in this?

  • I have both Dish TV HD + and Videocon d2h HD connections but both of them had not added recently launched HD Channels like FX HD, Movies Now HD, Nick HD, EPIC HD. Are these channels exclusively launched for Tata Sky ? I had Tata Sky connection for 9 years but I quit it as they were not and still not giving Neo Sports and Neo Prime on their platform. Any idea about the DTH Portability as promised by Min of I & B in 2013 ?

  • VG

    ^^ Forget about DTH portability at least for one year. Regarding those HD channels, they are not exclusive to Tata Sky but at the moment Tata Sky has lots of free TP space, thats why they are adding channels quickly.

    @Litton
    No. SD channels are same in HD boxes as they were in SD boxes. You'll get 720P or 720i resolution in HD channels only.

    @Sachin
    No. DTH portability is not yet launched in India. You'll need to buy a new connection.

  • Thanks VG for all the informations. TS recently launched Singapore based Channel News Asia International (CNAI ) on Nov 19th .It was also available in MSO/ Cable Platforms earlier.Dish TV has withdrawn BBC World News nearly two years back.Is it because Dish/Zee does not want to show other reputed international News Channels like BBC bcz it promotes CNN ( of Turner Broadcasting ) who in turn has a tie up with Time Warner ( for Broadcasting its programmes in U.S.) as Time Warner has shares in Dish / Zee ?!? In order to show that they are showing maximum International News Channels Dish claims that they show channels like France 24,Russia Today,CCTV,NHK World,DW TV but this is on its DD Free Dish Accessories and these channels have very low viewership . I read in Print/Web Media that this is the precise reason why Tata Sky does not show Neo Channels ( who has the rights for French Open,Davis Cup, PGA Tour,Dutch Soccer League etc as TS promotes Fox Sports Channels ( as Star Sports in India ) as it has a tie up with Fox. Same Reason for FX HD not available in other DTHs as Dish had never had any Transponder Space Non Availability problem and TS always had. One More query. On contacting Dish TV I was informed that there are No Movies Now HD channel as such and Movies Now shown on SD format on the DTH platforms are also shown on HD feeds/streams. For Example EPIC SD , Comedy Central SD ( is shown Full Screen on FHD TVs ) is simulcast as Epic HD 7 Comedy Central HD whereas Movies Now HD cannot show Full Screen on FHD TVs also as it is SD Simulcast Is it True ? I have FHD TV and HD STBs of both Dish True HD+ and Videocon d2h HD DTH

  • VG

    ^^ Some TV channels provide separate feeds of their SD and HD channels such as Star Plus, Zee, Sony, etc, thats why you'll see different programs on SD and HD feeds of those channels.

    But some TV channels such as Movies NOW, Comedy Central, EPIC, History TV18, etc only provide HD feeds. There is no SD feed available of these channels. These are the MSO and DTH companies who are downscaling the HD feeds and showing them as SD channels.

    Movies NOW is only an HD channel and Tata Sky showing it as HD as well as SD in downscaled mode. All other DTH are only showing it as downscaled SD feed.

    Regarding your other query, thats true. Partnerships make a big difference in decisions of channel addition. After all they all are doing business. Isn't it?

  • Thanks VG for these informations . Really Helpful Infos..

  • There was a channel Magicbricks Now, a Real Estate & Property channel from Times Group, was launched last month. Is it available on any DTH Platform ? (Not at least in Dish & Videocon d2h , as I have both)

  • VG

    ^^ Not yet.

  • Miniplex HD Added Tomorrow ADTV

  • VG

    ^^ Yes. ADTV Home channel's EPG is also showing.

  • Hi VG,
    Thanks a lot for this comprehensive list. You have covered every aspect of the DTH quality and based on this sheet I opted for Tata Sky HD.

    I must say that i am extremely pleased with this connection. I have opted for the Grand Sports Pack and i get 39 HD channels including Star Premiere HD. The only ones missing now are the HBO Premium Channels (hits & Defined) and they are available for 99/month.

    It's a treat to come back home and watch movies or programs via the HD channels provided by Tata Sky. I just wish more HD channels become available in the near future.

    Thanks again for your hard work.

    Cheers,
    John

  • VG

    ^^ Don't worry! HBO premium channels are going to shut down on January 1st, 2016. HBO HD is going to launch in that place.

  • Dear VG,

    I think keeping in mind of the amazing efforts you have put in helping Subscribers in Proper Selection for DTH Platforms by this Chart , on the Maximum Nos. of HD Channels, they should also be informed on the Premium SD Channels that they are likely going to Miss on a particular DTH. For example Tata Sky does not have Neo Prime and Neo Sports Channels (inspite of having Telecasting Rights of French Open Tennis , Davis Cup,PGA ,Dutch Soccer League ) Dish TV doesn't have BBC World News ,Videocon d2h &Dish both dosen't have News Asia to name a few.

    Thanks Again for your Stupendous Efforts on Putting these Charts and Specially keeping in mind of the Deadline for DAS is nearing (31-Dec-2015 ) . There will be many migrations from Cable TV to DTH and your chart will be of immense help to the New Customers of the DTH.

    Regards,

    Amit Mitra

  • Max HD will be on air from 25th Dec..Will it be available on all the DTH platforms or on selected few ?!?

  • VG

    ^^ It'll be added on Tata Sky. The addition date is not confirmed yet but there are chances that the channel might add on 25th Dec on Tata Sky. If it doesnt happen, then it'll be added on 1st January 2016 for sure. There is no confirmation from other DTH but the channel will be available on all DTH soon.

  • Hi Vj,

    Possible to share upcoming HD channels on Airtel DTH with dates?

  • VG Thanks for the insights provided. A few days ago read in Wiki about upcoming HD channels in India in 2016. Can we expect Sony ESPN HD in 2016 considering their collaboration? Also any updates on WB HD, SAB HD and any News Channel HD? Thanks

  • VG

    ^^ There is no news about SAB HD and WB HD. We can expect new HD channels from Sony ESPN collaboration though. No news HD channel is going to launch in near future.

    @sachin
    Only Max HD is confirmed at the moment.

  • Hey VG, Thanks! Your review really helped me a lot as i was well confused between airteldth, dishtv & tatasky, will go with tatasky for now.

  • Added On Sun Direct
    1. Animal Planet HD World
    2. MN + HD
    4. Ten HD

  • When Sub TV will launch in HD on videocon

  • VG

    ^^ Sab TV has no HD feed yet. It'll launch very soon and then DTH will add it.

  • As per their Customer Care Feedback Team, SONY MAX HD and Nick HD will be added on Dish TV on 04-Jan-2016 Monday. He also gave the Max HD No as LCN 14. Tata Sky now leads the HD Channels with 48, on Monday Dish will edge past to regain top slot on Nos of HD Channels

  • VG

    ^^ Dish TV has already started testing of these 2 HD channels so chances are very high that the addition will happen on tomorrow or on Jan 4th as you mentioned.

  • Is HD TV is compulsory for Tata Sky HD dth connection? or any LCD or LED TV will work?

  • @SJ: Any CRT, LCD (CCFL-backlit LCDs) or LED (LED-Backlit LCDs) TV is working with TataSky HD DTH connection. However, you will have to pay extra HD Access Fee for the Month/Year, if you want to watch any HD channel.

  • dish tv added Max HD and Nick HD

  • I want to connect My HD DTH box to hometheater for Dolby sound. Which one is better Videocon or Tata sky. currently I m using Videocon HD. Plz help .sound Quality??

  • when will come animal planet hd on videocon d2h

  • any up coming hd on videocon d2h

  • VG

    ^^ No official news yet. But you can expect Sony Max HD soon on Videocon.

    @Vilas
    Videocon doesnt provide Dolby Digital sound. It only provides 5.1 surround sound. So Tata Sky would be better for you.

  • discovery hd and animal planet HD provide 5:1 sound since the last 6-9 months on dish tv.

  • Asianet hd available in dishtv or not

  • DTH provider's plans are kind of complicated. IE TATA Sky's South pack etc. I can't understand cause I'm not interested in south Indian channels.

  • Dear VG,

    why dishTv displays at 1080i and not 1080p but still claims true HD, or is there any solution to change STB settings to receive 1080p resolution?

    Regards

  • VG

    ^^ Almost all DTH use 1080i resolution for HD channels. I think Videocon uses 1080p, can't confirm it.

  • As per Media Reports Sony Pictures Networks India (SPN) is all set to launch its two sports channels namely Sony ESPN and Sony ESPN HD in collaboration with ESPN on Sunday, 17 January. Any News whether these two channels will be available on DTHs ( Dish and d2h) or on TS only as the report says that the Sony ESPN channels will kick-off their sporting calendar with the live broadcast of the first Grand Slam of the year, the Australian Open ?

  • VG

    ^^ The current Sony KIX channel will be re-branded to Sony ESPN so all DTH having Sony KIX channel will automatically have the new Sony ESPN channel. The HD feed will be added separately but no confirmation yet.

  • Thanks VG, i have checked videocon at by brothers house it provides 1080p whereas dishTv which i have is providing 1080i. that means the claim of true HD is base less they all are upscale (Interlaced).

    thanks
    Nafees
    Pakistan.

  • @Nafees. I have both Dish & d2h HD connections and imo, it is very difficult to differentiate between 1080i & 1080p. You may be aware that Dish is providing 49 HD Channels whereas d2h have 38 HD and channels like HBO Hits, Sony Max HD,Animal Planet HD World, Nat Geo People HD,Nick HD+ &TV HD are missing in Videocon d2h. VG has latest list on Nos. of HD channels and if you go through the blog's postings and if memory serves me right, the last HD channels d2h has added was TLC HD World and that was around 8 months back. Their Customer Service is Pathetic and if you ever put any comments /requests on their FB wall on the non-availability of channels they would curtly tell you that this is not the place to ask for channel addition and advise you to go to a link to lodge your complaint/request. Then you will receive routine formal reply. It is upto you to decide that you will go for lesser nos. of HD channels ( with not too less difference in package price )or on PQ of 1050i/1080p. Only One Important Channel is missing in Dish is BBC World News.

  • Dear Amit,

    Many thanks for your detailed reply, besides above DishTV is the only network which provides Pakistani channels and I live in Karachi, Pakistan and this is the reason customer service doesn't matter to me as when ever I ask anything from customer service they say please contact your local dealer. but my matter of concern is that they claim of true HD which is wrong in my opinion due to 1080i (upscale) and not full HD 1080p.

    Regards
    Nafees

  • further to above any idea when HBO hits will be replaced as i had already paid for HBO. and its already 12 days past of January.

  • VG

    ^^ No official date yet. But it'll be re-branded very soon.

  • Dear Nafees,

    Thanks for your reply.I was not aware that Dish TV is available in Pakistan. The only TV Programme syndicated from Pakistan that we can see here is on Zindagi Channel (Zee Network /Essel Group who owns Dish TV here ).You may be aware that programmes of Zindagi like Zindagi Gulzar Hain became very popular in India and was telecast several times. Fawad Khan went on to win the Filmfare Award also. As I never watches/d serial or Hindi GECs, I read it all in the Media.BTW, which channel in Pakistan is showing the NZL ODI & T20 Series ? I don't think we can see it here as India-Aus series timing here is clashing with that.I never miss Pak overseas matches as they have stupendous record overseas since the days of Fazal Mahmood in the '50s when they won in 1954 in the Oval Test vs Eng, (17 years b4 us) and for their sheer unpredictability and Fast Bowling Talents. Ten Sports/Taaz Television Network ( also part of Zee Group / Dish TV here )shows the Pakistan matches here but I checked their website to find that their schedule doesn't have Pak-Nzl series. Still remember that 40b 89 by Abdul Razzaq in 2004 Jan vs NZL in W'ton. Pakistan missed it by just 4 runs chasing 308. Will miss similar actions this time.

    Regards,

    Amit Mitra

  • I am using Dish TV HD, when we will get Asianet HD & Mazhavil manoram HD channels.

  • Max HD, Nick+HD, Asianet HD & Manorama HD Addition On Videocon D2H

  • my Exp is videocon is best but less Hd ch

  • Thanks Amit,
    yes DishTv, Videocon, TataSky, and all others are available in Pakistan but all illegal but still a huge market for DTH, I am highly impressed with your cricket knowledge as i am not interested in sports but still watch only those matches where Pakistan participates, however NZL/PAK showing by PTV Sports (Pakistan's Local sports channel).

    Regards
    Nafees

  • Thanks Nafees,
    On Cricket, Congrats to you as Pak beat NZL on a day when We could not defend 309 ( twice within 3 days ) in an ODI while Pak Defended 171 in a T20I in NZL. On Sports and TV serials you may be aware that Sachin Tendulkar made his debut in the same Test in your hometown in 1989 ( alongwith Waqar Younis ( your present coach ) and Salil Ankola who became a TV Star later and acted in some serials

  • DISH TV Has added SONY ESPN HD on Channel #87 Today while Sony Kix was Rebranded was SONY ESPN Yesterday by SPN. Videocon d2h , As Usual, has Not Added SONY ESPN HD.I think TS, Airtel or even RDTV must have added SONY ESPN HD by now.

  • Hi VG ,

    Firstly , Thanks & Congrats on putting up a great comparsion on HD Channels .

    I want to know which are the True HD channels and which of them are upscaled ones ?

  • Hi, Does any one have idea about when Videocon D2H will be adding recently launched HD Channels e.g. SONY ESPN HD, MAX HD etc. ?

  • Update..Page..

  • Dear Amit,

    Once again i'm amazed by your indepth knowledge of cricket and amazing memory, thanks for the update about newly added channel Sony ESPN HD will check today evening and hope it will telecast Pakistan/NZL series.

    Regards

    Nafees

  • Videocon d2h to launch of Asianet
    HD and Mazhavil manorama HD
    from 20 jan 2016
    Asianet HD @991
    Mazhavil Manorama HD @990

  • Any update of Sony ESPN HD on Videocon D2H?

  • Any updates of addition of Sony ESPN HD & Animal Planet HD world in Videocon d2h ??

  • VG

    ^^ No. I'll update the list as soon as any addition happens.

  • Dear VG,

    please advise where can I find channels list of DishTv?

    Regards
    Nafees

  • VG

    ^^ Check following:

    dishtv.in/Pages/DIY/Pic-By-Chanel.aspx
    dishtv.in/Pages/Packs/DTH-Channels-Packages.aspx

  • Is there any news about HBO defined's replacement?

  • VG

    ^^ HBO Defined channel is dead and HBO Hits channel will be re-branded as HBO HD in near future.

  • I had used dish tv tru Hd for couple of years. Believe me the customer care is really worst. Hardware is not good. Switched to videocon d2h and it is fine so far. Customer care is also good. They are prompt. But they don't have Sony Espn HD. Can anyone suggest other service provider is good interms of customer care and maximum HD channels.

  • VG

    ^^ Tata Sky is best in terms of hardware and customer care. Also they have almost all HD channels now and since a few months, they are rapidly adding new HD channels. But Tata Sky is costly.

  • @shanthi, Tata Sky doesn't have Neo Sports and Neo Prime Channels . If you are Sports Enthusiast, you will miss French Open , Davis Cup , Dutch League, Bangladesh Cricket Matches. TS also doesn't have Nat Geo People HD,Travel XP HD, Nat Geo Music, MTV Indies HD, Two Malayalam HD Channels ( Asianet HD ,Mazhavil Manorama HD as shown in the List of channels by VG in this blog ). But,TS Service is Really Very Good ( my experience was as a TS Subscriber btwn 2005-14), earlier they had transponder problems so they could not add channels as fast as they are doing nowadays.My suggestion is if you want to watch all the HD channels , keep a DTH connection which is having all that / Your Favourite ( must watch HD Channels ) and keep another DTH connection as standby on its minimum price package with adding the one that you are missing as a la carte in that package. I read somewhere that Dish is having the minimum package of Rs. 99/- for the DAS III Phase Cities , may be available in Rest of India also now

  • I have recently bought 4k tv, Can you pls suggest which 4k DTH should I go with. I stay in Bangalore.
    Thanks

  • VG

    ^^ Currently no DTH is prefect for 4K TV as there are very few 4K content available. A few DTH such as Tata Sky and Videocon launched 4K STB but due to non-availability of 4K content and channels it was a fail.

    So I'll advise you to not go with any 4K STB at the moment and wait for some time until better 4K STB and more 4K content become available.

  • hi bro my tata sky id has been blocked & now i can nt recharge or watch TV. what to do now? i m from Bangladesh

  • VG

    ^^ You should contact their customer care. Only they can help you in this matter.

  • airtel.in/dthinfo/
    plz chk the above link what is happening in airtel dth ....
    and i m not able to see the above three channel colors infinity hd, fx hd & nick hd and then i called customer care they said these channel will replace the zee channels which are (&tv hd , &pictures hd , zee cinema hd) then i asked them for provide these channel they told me that it will charge extra.. whereas i had opted for their highest hd pack of Rs204....

  • Hi VG,

    I have a query regarding Life OK HD channel which I have been observing for a month or so that the screen jumps or flickers in small margin predominantly. I called ADTV customer care, they came and performed resetting. But I noticed same issue. Kindly let me the reason behind this.

    Moreover I observed while changing audio settings on ADTV; if preferred audio on HDMI is changed to DD+ then SonyMaxHD does not provide sound while all other channels provide sound but normally on DD it works fine. What would be the reasons?

  • VG

    ^^ There is some problem in Sony Max HD channel when the audio is selected as DD+. Regarding Life OK HD flickering issue, it might be a problem at ADTV side.

  • any news about &tv hd and sony espn hd on videocond2h. any news plz tell us,why &tv hd not been added on vd2h.

  • Is there any broadband internet service by DTH Set-Top Box available in india?

  • VG

    ^^ No but soon Tata Sky, Videocon and Airtel will launch STB or apps for STB to browse Internet.

    @arya
    Not yet.

  • Which plan should I choose for the fastest internet under 2000 rs.

  • Videocon D2H is the best if you consider value for money

  • now Sony MAX HD has DD5.1 on Airtel. Plz update

  • When they(TATA SKY) are planning to launch Romedy Now HD? It has been a long time Since Romedy Now HD launched.

  • Hi VG,

    Firstly, I called Airtel Customer care and requested to modify/update the website as it is not thoroughly detailed with regards to package comparison and HD channels linked with each package, in short the user interface is not that friendly in reply they got annoyed saying how can you say as we have not got any complaint regarding this and started arguing.

    Secondly, third party wallet (PayTM and Mobikwik) provide cashback offers on recharging DTH to all networks and platforms except Airtel customers. On that basis I contacted Paytm and they replied that Airtel has detained promoting offers with PayTM. With such detail I called Airtel customer care regarding same and they told to send a mail which I did for past 2 weeks but no reply. Later I called but they disconnected the call.

    With frustration I requested for cancellation and they told that upon cancellation they will take back the set-top box and antenna as its Airtel property. On questioning I paid for those then they replied its Airtel's property.

    I do not know what is going on and very unhappy with their customer support. Kindly guide me as I believe this is purely a concern of consumer affairs misguiding and cheating common people.

  • VG

    ^^ Set top box and other hardware is always DTH company property even though we pay for them. They can take back them if we cancel the connection. Although it doesnt happen generally but I have seen cases when Dish TV asked old customers to return STBs and other hardware when they stopped recharging their accounts.

  • Hi VG,

    Just a small suggestion and guidance needed regarding purchasing an LED TV 32". Is it worth going for FHD or HD Ready will suffice. Do we notice any difference viewing HD channels on HD ready or FHD for a 32" LED.

    Secondly which brand would you suggest?

  • VG

    ^^ Full HD definitely. Always go with the latest technology. You can choose between Sony and Samsung. Check out menus and features and go with the model which suites best to your needs. Samsung supports more file formats than Sony if you are going to watch videos using USB drives.

  • Hi VG,

    Thanks in advance for your efforts and support.

    I purchased Sony LED which is best I believe in terms of picture depth resolution.

    I got HD set-top box and has recording capability via USB. I recorded a small program and while trying to view on my PC (Windows 10) it does not support. When I tried to browse those recorded files it shows many files but one file which was 1GB in size shows .STR format.

    Hence my question goes as: is there any converter to view on PC?

  • VG

    ^^ No. You cant play recorded content on PC. They are encrypted.

  • NOTE 1: HBO Hits HD channel will be re-branded as HBO HD very soon by the broadcaster.

    Noted 1 when it will be arrived?

  • VG

    ^^ Its a delay from the broadcaster. It might be re-branded in April.

  • Hi VG,

    Recently last Nov-Dec there was additional tax (0.5%) so in total 14.5% to be paid by subscribers for entertainment like DTH and effective from today there has been an increase on my monthly pack of Airtel DTH. Why we common people need to suffer whenever budget say so. Why not telecom provider are targeted on tax, why only on consumers.

  • Videocon D2H has also increased the rate of their Pack from 12th March, 2016.

  • Dear VG,

    Videocon D2H Way New Channel Not Adding Like,

    Ten GOLF HD
    Sony ESPN HD
    Movies NOW HD
    Zee CAFE HD
    Net GEO Music HD
    Net GEO People HD
    FX HD
    Comedy Central HD
    Animal Planet HD
    Baby TV HD

    When Add This HD Channels Videocon d2h.

  • Seriously you guys are very fast added DD to &TVHD on ADTV as soon as it got added, superior commitment towards this blog.
    i have added it on my bookmarks bar.

    P.S: it was because of my mail they have added DD on both SOny MAX and & &TVHD.

  • Sony ESPN HD Added By Sun Direct

  • Hi, can you publish for 4K channels review

  • VG

    ^^ Currently there is no official 4K channel available in India. Travel XP will launch its 4K channel in coming months. A few DTH provide a single and their own 4K channel to show 4K content. Nothing much there at the moment.

  • which one has better picture quality tata sky or videocon d2h? is videocon d2h truly provide 1080p?

  • Tata sky is launching 10 new HD channels on 2nd April 2016 @ 17:00
    The channel names are Romedy Now HD, Baby TV HD, Da Vinci HD, NGC People HD, Travel XP HD ,Mazhavil Manorama HD, MTV Indies HD, VH1 HD ,Nat Geo Music HD, Naaptol HD. Any one can verify this by contacting directly to tata sky customer care... So, technically tata sky will have all the hd channels..........

  • VG

    ^^ The addition has been postponed to April 5.

    @hritik
    Both provide almost similar PQ.

  • Ten HD renamed as TEN1 HD

  • any up coming hd channels on videocond2h?

  • VG

    ^^ No news at the moment.

  • [If we talk about SD channels, Dish TV beats Tata Sky. You'll find almost all TV channels in Dish TV whether its a popular channel or a less known local TV channel. But Tata Sky provides limited channels.]

    Dear VG
    Do u have any list/link that i can check it and buy. Actually i need to compare which channel is in there. Like u provide HD channel list,

    Don't take it otherwise.

    Adnan

  • @Adnan, Dish TV doesn't have Animax, Toonami, MagicBricks Now that Tata Sky has whereas Tata Sky doesn't have Neo Prime and Neo Sports that Dish have. In Nos and Quality ( Dolby Sound etc) of HD Channels, Tata Sky is Far Ahead of Dish

  • Thanks for the detailed information VG.

    Can you clarify if these True HD channels are broadcasted at 720p or 1080p ?

  • VG

    ^^ 1080p

    @Adnan
    Just check the packages details on their official websites and you'll find all channels names.

  • Gone are the days where we use to pay around 150-200 for local Cable TV and get 90% of most channels that were around that time. There were hardly 50-60 channels those days in the late 1996-99 or early 2000-2001.

    Now days we hardly get to watch any channels. We may land up max to max watching any one channel for around 60 mins or a movie maybe for 2.5 hours with 1.5 hours of useless advertising.

    In the name of Digitization & maximum channels & HD channels these companies are looting the lay man of around 460 per month (which dont even include HD Channels and English Entertainment, News & Movie Channels) TataSky alone charge 175 for HD channels. So even if you are on Ala Carte and have subscribed to just 3 HD channels. You have to shell out 175 for those 3 channels just to watch them in HD. If you work out the maths. 175 premium for 59 HD Channels. They should be charging just 10 rupees EXTRA for 3 HD Channels extra apart from the subscription price of those channels (As per TATASKY RULES). BUT THEY STILL WANT THE ENTIRE 175 for it.

    No doubt you are paying for excellent service & quality but its a very high price to pay.

    TATA SKY's TOP END PACKAGES
    400 (BUMPER |Without any ENGLISH CHANNELS) + 175(HD FEE) = 575 Rupees
    530 (ULTRA WITH ENGLISH CHANNELS) + 175(HD FEE) = STAGGERING 705 Rupees

    WHAT A RIP OFF !!!

  • I think every one on TataSky who dont watch a lot of TV should go for the Ala Carte Package (Make my Pack)

    I use to pay 650 Rupees 2 years ago....
    After seeing that there's no value for money i decided to change & go Ala Carte.

    I realized that on an average we just watch 5-6 channels only the entire month. Max only surfed 2-3 channels a day....

    Both me & my spouse work..we hardly get time to speak to each other in the week let alone making the time to sit and watch TV.

    I worked out that the only channels being watched in my household were
    SONY
    COLORS
    LIFE OK
    ZEE TV

    The above watched mostly by parents & by spouse occasionally on holidays....

    NDTV 24*7 (English)
    STAR SPORTS 1
    STAR SPORTS 4
    The above by me..

    So why was I paying 575 Rupees a month for only 8 channels monthly.....Makes you think. Right.

    I moved on to Ala Carte.

    TataSky's rule says (Note: Minimum subscription value of Rs 165 is mandatory for A-la-carte channels )

    So here it is the break up on Ala Carte for the same channels above.

    SONY - 30 Rupees
    COLORS - 20 Rupees
    LIFE OK - 20 Rupees
    ZEE TV - 20 Rupees
    NDTV 24*7 (English) - 15 Rupees
    STAR SPORTS 1 - 50 Rupees
    STAR SPORTS 4 - 50 Rupees

    Come to a total of 205 rupees. Surpassing the mandatory 165 minimum subcription value)

    All the above channels come with their equivalent HD Channels.. So i am paying an additional
    175 Rupees for these 7 channels only...

    205 + 175 = 380. So thats what i pay every month with 7 HD Channels.

    It saves me 195 rupees a month. Saved me almost 4700 in the last 2 years. After which with the same savings i bought a TATA SKY HD+ BOX (recording function).

    So no i can even afford to miss any shows (Go for a walk with my spouse or spend time with family)
    or prime time news or any football games which come on late at night and watch them at my own convenience any time i want.

    THE ABOVE IS ADVISABLE FOR HOUSEHOLDS THAT DON'T WATCH A LOT OF TV.

  • Any new channels you want YOU CAN add instantly in seconds by SMS..
    New channels that you add get LOCKED-IN for a 30 day period.
    Once you surpass the 30 day LOCK-IN period , you can remove & add other channels at will.

    You are still counted in for any offers available on your account.

    For e.g Sony Six HD during IPL's was on offer for 10 Rupees a month.
    I took it up and after the IPL was over. I took it off.

    Just log on to mytatasky.com, register your subscriber ID & Mobile no and you are good to go.

  • @Kev ADTV suits u better than Tata sky, he reason being i am also on Ala Carte and i pay 283 for channels more than you, the reason being ADTV doesnt charge extra for HD channels i.e. 125 which you pay. in ADTV if u add a HD channel onkly that will come for that charge, so i am enjoying 13HD channels plus few SD channels like news, some old movie channel all that for 283, see the breakup of my ala carte. plus it provides all the regional channels of any region life time free.

    DD Rajyasabha Life Time Free
    Rs.0.00

    Recording topup free
    Rs.0.00

    AAJ TAK Free topup
    Rs.4.00

    CHANNEL V Free topup Rs.2
    Rs.1.00

    NDTV India Free topup Rs.5
    Rs.4.00

    News 24 Free topup Rs.3
    Rs.1.00

    On Demand TV free topup Apr-13
    Rs.0.00

    Star Sports HD 1 Free Topup May-13 Rs.50
    Rs.50.00

    TIMES NOW Free topup Aug-13 Upfront NRC Rs.15
    Rs.15.00

    Masti TV Free topup Aug-13
    Rs.1.00

    Zee Classic Free topup Aug-13 Upfront NRC Rs.20
    Rs.20.00

    B4U MUSIC Free topup Aug-13
    Rs.1.00

    ETC Free topup Aug-13
    Rs.3.00

    DD Madhya Pradesh Free Topup Oct-13
    Rs.0.00

    HD Customer identification Topup
    Rs.0.00

    Hindi Plus HD Topup(14 channels) Dec-14
    Rs.111.00

    Hindi Regional Lifetime Free Topup
    Rs.0.00

    Punjabi Regional Lifetime Free Topup
    Rs.0.00

    Bengali Oriya Regional Lifetime Free Topup
    Rs.0.00

    Marathi Regional Lifetime Free Topup
    Rs.0.00

    Telugu Regional Lifetime Free Topup
    Rs.0.00

    Kannada Regional Lifetime Free Topup
    Rs.0.00

    North East Lifetime Free Topup Apr-15
    Rs.0.00

    Tamil Lifetime Free Topup Apr-15
    Rs.0.00

  • I& B Ministry has recenltly , after 31st Jan 2016, cleared these channels for Launch : Sab Bangla; Sab Tamil; Sab Punjabi; Sab Marathi; Sab Telugu; Sony Wah; Sony Rox; Jewel Alliance; Star Utsav Movies (Earlier:Star Gold Romance); Maa HD;  Jalsha Movies HD; Star Jalsha HD; Maa Movies HD;  Star Pravah HD; Star Movies Premiere; Star Movies Premiere HD; Fox Crime HD; Rishtey Cineplex; Stay Raw; And Vijay Super.

    Any information on which of these channels are ready to launch or re branded ? Cineplex Ristey is already launched . Any other channel launched from these ?

  • VG

    ^^ Star Vijay HD, Star Jalsha Movies HD, Star Jalsha HD and Star Pravah HD are already running under testing and are ready to launch on April 14th.

  • Star Jalsha HD and Jalsha Movies HD Launched today and added today itself on Tata Sky. Both Bangla Channels launched on Bangla New Year. Channel Nos. 841 & 846 respectively on Tata Sky

  • Dear VG,

    Please Update the
    .... ' list of winners based on maximum number of HD channels is as following:

    1st - Tata Sky (59)- Change this to 61 w.e.f. 14-Apr-16
    2nd - Dish TV (50)
    3rd - Airtel Digital TV (44)
    4th - Videocon D2H (42)
    5th - Sun Direct (16)
    6th - Reliance Digital TV (12)
    7th - DD Direct+ aka Free Dish (0)

  • VG

    ^^ Oops. My bad. I forgot to update that. Thanks for the heads up. :)

  • What happened to Star Vijay HD launch which was supposed to be on April 14th?

  • Why does Videocon d2h provide so less hd channels?

  • Hi,
    Please update your list with MOVIES NOW HD is added to Airtel from today. it is coming with Dolby Digital Audio.

  • VG please let me know which dth provider provides max. HD content at minimum cost.
    Also let me know which dth is economical (low budjet, many channels) ?
    Which dth can withstand poor climate conditions?

  • VG

    ^^ Here are the answers:

    1. I think Dish TV. Better you check packages details on various DTH websites.
    2. Videocon and Dish TV.
    3. No DTH. You'll get signal outage in poor weather conditions in all DTH.

  • Dish TV has added Miniplex Cinema this week but not in HD but in SD

  • I am from Middle East, using Dish TV TrueHD+. Tata Sky wont work here, Our one local person who sells DTH services said that replace my DTH with Airtel. He said Airtel has lot more channels (HD & Non HD) than Dish TV. Example I dont get any DD channel on Dish TV. I want all DD channels. Pls suggest me whether to replace with Airtel or be with Dish TV?

  • tatasky hd or tatasky hd 4k witch is best steupbox for smart ultra hd ( 4k) 43inch tv

  • VG

    ^^ Currently there are no 4K channels so its better to go with HD+ Transfer box which comes with recording facility.

    @Sai
    Dish TV has more HD channels than ADTV. You can check the above chart.

  • Star Pravah HD being launched this Sunday , 1st May being the Maharashtra Day

  • VG

    ^^ Not only Star Pravah HD but Colors Marathi HD is also going to add on Tata Sky on 1st May.

  • Do you have any info about Star Vijay HD launch ?

  • VG

    ^^ Star Vijay HD is already running under testing but official launch date has not been announced yet.

  • Hi VG,

    Can you tell me whether Veideocon DTH is going to add more HD channels in coming days? Earlier videocon has the highest no. of HD channels but now TATA sky has. Shall I change the service provider to TATA sky now or wait for few more days?

  • @Pradeep, I think u shd do that. I have migrated to TS from d2h this month exactly for this reason. TS is now well ahd of Dish TV also in terms of no of HD channels, it wl hv 63 frm 2mrw to Dish 50...But TS has no Neo Prime and Neo Sports

  • VG

    ^^ TS might add 4-5 HD channels very soon.

  • please tell me why videocon d2h is providing so less hd channels? they have increased their monthly rates too..
    please reply VG..

  • VG

    ^^ There is no news of any upcoming HD channel addition on Videocon D2H.

  • Dear VG,

    Would request you to update the para ' So if we look at the number, Tata Sky provides the maximum number of HD channels. Dish TV, Airtel Digital TV and Videocon D2H are close to it' to ' So if we look at the number, Tata Sky provides the maximum number of HD channels. Dish TV, Airtel Digital TV and Videocon D2H are NOWHERE close to it' As TS has 66 HD Channels to Dish's 50 HD Channels (16 Short of TS) , Airtel's 49 (17 Short of TS) and Videocon d2h 42 (24 Short of TS) .

  • VG

    ^^ lol. Kind of true. ;)

  • Hi,

    Any update on STAR VIJAY HD.. badly awaiting for it.. Experts plz put some light on Launch date. Thanks in advance.

  • VG

    ^^ There is no official launch date. The channel is currently under testing.

  • Star Jalsha HD , Jalsha Movies HD a7 Colors Bangla HD is still pending on dish tv where in TS & ADTV are broadcasting these three channels, Plz clear why it is happen with these Bengali regional channels.

  • VG

    ^^ It depends upon the DTH company. Dish TV and Videocon don't look in mood of adding any new HD channel atm.

  • @Sandipan, Dish TV is going to add Zee Marathi HD soon. They are likely to add Zee TV Regional Channels' HD Feed for Zee Kannad, Zee Tamil etc first as these are from their stable only. Dish has not added 2 Malayalam HD Channels though they were launched long back. Adding HD Channels from Star or Colours' stable is not their priority.

  • I only hope that Tata Sky adds Neo Sports and Neo Prime as French Open this month are on it. Even TDSAT also disposed the case of Neo Sports vs TS

  • hm, bad rules and strategy. Bad news for Bengali regional viewers.

  • star vijay hd on 29th may 2016

  • Tata Sky has added international news channels like France 24, NHK World, Australia Plus, Russia Today , DW, TV Monde Asia but why not Neo Prime and Neo Sports ?!?

  • VG

    ^^ Because they dont want to pay Neo for their sports channels.

  • Is it possible for a DTH Service Provider to arrange telecasting a particular sports event on its platform like French Open on Tata Sky ? As Tata Sky has 3 Separate HD channels like Star Sports ADD on HD1,2,3 that show matches of Bundesliga and EPL (on Saturdays ) that are not shown on Star Sports' regular 4HD +4 SD Channels, TS can similarly arrange French Open with Feed from French Tennis authorities or will it be infringement of Telecast Rights exclusively given to Neo so permission can't be sought or given ?!?

  • Channel Launching in Tata Sky

    Star Utsav Movie 21 May
    Star Vijay HD 29 May

    Source: Facebook Page of Tata Sky Updates Official

  • VG

    ^^ There is a new sports channel coming called "Star Sports Select HD" which might telecast different sports events on selection like pressing Red button on remote.

  • VG

    Neo Sports channels are coming back soon on Tata Sky. ;)

  • Thanks ,VG, That's a Gr8 Breaking News !!!! First informed by You and now Just read it on indiantelevision.com/dth/dth-operator/neo-sports-soon-available-on-tata-sky-160509......

    Tata Sky will be unbeatable now. There are no more Popular TV channels left to be demanded / pending to be launched by TS now. Cineplex and Cineplex movies from Colors' / Rishtey stable maybe the exceptions as of now

  • Music Now HD and Enjoy Now HD channels are launched now

  • Dear vg
    Any news on launch date of two telugu hd channels. "Maa tv hd", " maa movies hd".???

  • VG

    ^^ Not yet.

    @sri
    Those are not normal channels. They are only available on IPTV.

  • VG

    Neo Sports and Neo Prime channels will add tomorrow on Tata Sky. Some more channels may also add. ;)

    Big Magic HD channel is also going to launch very soon.

  • Dear VG,

    Star Utsav Movies launched today. Dish Channel No. 2204. Also on DD Free Dish. Surprised me that Star is launching FTA channels these days of HD Channels launch. Any Idea when Star Sports Select HD will be launched ?

    Rgds,

  • VG

    ^^ No launch date yet. By the way, BBC Earth HD is also under testing since a few days. ;)

  • ^That's a Great News, VG :BBC Earth HD is being tasted , thus can we can hope for it's launch on Tata Sky & Dish very soon ? Please inform how to know in advance when a channel being tasted.Is it shown on any channel ? sometimes Test Transmission used to be shown in earlier days when one came across it while surfing channels

  • VG

    ^^ Since this channel is from SPN, we cant predict when will it launched as they are too lazy in launching new HD channels. SAB TV HD is still pending. Regarding testing channels, you can get pre-information by searching on the satellite using FTA set top box. ;)

  • Dear VG,
    Please remove both the notes (Sony Kix & HBO). Both are there for almost 4 months or more.

  • Dear VG,

    As you informed that BBC Earth is from SPN, it's likely to be launched next month only after the IPL is over on 29th May .IPL is shown on Sony Channels only so they would not want the TRP /TVP of Max is affected by any 'distraction' /eating into viewership by the launch of any channels from their own stable like SAB HD or BBC Earth

  • VG

    ^^ May be. SPN is always known to be very slow in launching new channels.

  • VG

    Tata Sky has launched French Open Add On HD channel which is event-based channel and will telecast live Tennis matches. :)

  • This French Open HD channel #423 is showing in HD Feed whereas Neo Sports & Neo Prime on Ch #424 & 425 are showing on SD downscaled format. But the sound quality in the Channel #423 Add On French Sports is Very Poor. I wonder whether the HD will remain in Cricket also as Ten 1 HD is supposed to show both the Zimbabwe & West Indies tours in HD and Ten 3 ( Erstwhile Ten Cricket ) will show the cricket matches in Full Scale SD as the telecasting rights were with them.

  • VG

    ^^ Dish TV has also added French Open HD channel similar to Tata Sky. :)

  • Yes .Dish TV French Open HD on Channel 89. Perhaps Dish is getting up from their Deep Slumber on not adding HD Channels after getting 17 HD channels behind Tata Sky .Maybe they are not bothered on adding the Regional HD Channels ( 9 out of 17 HD Channels are Regional Channels ) but have to sit up as Sports is a Big Draw and TS has added Neo Sports and Neo Prime after 3 years just on the eve of French Open.Winning in TDSAT also helped TS for getting Neo. Let's hope Good Sense prevail on Dish on Adding remaining HD Channels as more HD Channels are going to launch soon :)

  • Dear “VG”, I'm noticing this issue since more than a month so I'm reporting it to you!

    You have added a plus (+) sign to Fox Life HD in Dish TV's column indicating it's available in "DD 5.1" on the DTH-platform while haven't added the same for Nat Geo Wild HD (interestingly, both of the channels are from same broadcaster) in its column. May I [kindly] know why? Because the reality is exactly opposite! While "5.1" audio-feed option is available for both channels but in the case of former, the response is just blank/mute sound while in case of latter, the audio [feed] changes and it's working perfectly fine! Being a legacy Dish TV subscriber (using current connection for more than a year), I complained about the Fox Life HD's case to them on Twitter months ago but it seems they're not worried after promising to fix it in a telephonic follow-up. :) :/ :|

  • Hi,
    Star Vijay HD is available on Airtel with Dolby Digital Audio.

  • VG

    ^^ Yep. Updated.

    @Maaz Kalim
    Fox Life HD doesnt provide DD+ 5.1 sound. It only provides DD sound.

  • I have Airtel DigitalTV & you know what VG? I am dying hard watcher of Documentaries. And this Airtel is keeping mum !

    Absolutely no idea when they will have Nat Geo Wild HD, Animal Planet HD, Nat Geo People HD to be added and that too with Dual audio, English & Hindi. (Even currently added HD documentary channels do not have dual audio, it's only English. ! (: )

    Seriously they are snatching away my patient. Planning to move on Tata Sky HD.

  • There is one request dear VG.

    Can you please also add an 'Audio' column in the comparison list. I think it would be very helpful for people like me who prefer to watch channels in different audio, e.g. in local or national language.

  • Dear Bhavesh,
    May I please know, what is our national language? Think it's Hindi to you. But sorry to say, it's not. You can go to this link if you feel wikipedia isn't a reliable source. thehindu.com/news/national/hindi-not-a-national-language-court/article94695.ece

  • Hi,

    When star vijay HD will be added in dishtv network?

  • Dear VG,

    1) When Sony Le Plex HD would be Launched and whether it would be available in Tata Sky and Dish Tv (as Dish is nowadays on Sleep Mode as far as addition of HD channels is concerned and Tata Sky has begin to lag in that as even Airtel DTH has launched Star Vijay HD which TS hasn't) ?

    2) Why Sony Wah, Star Utsav Movies , CINEPLEX and Cineplex Movies are available in DD Free Dish ( barring Cineplex Movies ) and Dish TV but not in Tata Sky ?!? Even X Zone channel ( an Viacom 18 Gp chammel like Cineplex and Cineplex Movies ) are not available in Tata Sky. Is there any issues between TS & Viacom 18 ?!?

  • VG

    Tata Sky is testing Star Vijay HD and it'll be added most probably on 3rd or 4th June. :)

    Other SD channels will also add soon.

  • VG

    India News HD channel has started testing. :)

  • Dear Pranab,

    Thanks for drawing attention to the mistake. I should not had used word 'national language'.

  • Which DTH Service Provider give us choice to select my own channel and pay according to that ?
    please waiting for ur answer , cause now have to buy a STB.

  • VG

    ^^ I dont think any DTH provides such facility. All DTH provide different packages to choose from. Check their websites to choose a package suitable for you.

  • My relative want to purchase dth, which provides good picture quality for SD as well as HD channel.Two choices dishtv or tata sky ?

  • VG

    ^^ PQ is better in Tata Sky. Also Tata Sky provides more HD channels than Dish TV but TS is costly compared to Dish TV.

  • when colors marathi hd and star pravah hd channels add

  • when colors marathi hd and star pravah hd channels add on dishtv hd

  • VG

    ^^ No news yet.

  • when Romedy Now hd channel add on dishtv hd

  • VG

    ^^ Not in near future.

  • Dear VG,

    Any update on adding Sony ESPN HD in Videocon DTH?

  • Dear VG,

    I would like to add few points to your reply;

    1) Dish TV does provide Pick by Channel Option in its website .the link is dishtv.in/Pages/DIY/Pic-By-Chanel.aspx. TO MAKE YOUR OWN PACK the Viewers have to Select Channels of his/her choice from the list on that link (Total charge of the channels has to be minimum price of Rs. 150 + applicable taxes)
    2) Tata Sky is cheaper considering it is offering 67 HD Channels ( including 13 Regional HD channels: Tamil 4, Bangla 3, Marathi 2,Malayalam 2, Kannad 1,Telugu 1 and viewer can opt for the Regional HD Channel as per his language and region ) at Rs. 175 /- but Dish is Offering 50 HD Channels ( including 4 Regional HD Channels) at Rs. 220/-. Dish has more SD channels like Sony Wah, Star Utsav Movies, Cineplex, Cineplex Movies and X Zone that TS has not yet added. TS has both News X and News X HD while dish has neither . TS has 9xO also that dish hasn't. Viewers can get Full HD with minimum base pack of Rs. 270/- in Dish by taking Super family Pack but they wont get the Sports SD Channels, English (News ,Movies & Entertainment ) SD channels in that Pack. To get all the SD channels in their platforms, Dish ( New Titanium ) and Tata Sky ( Ultra ) Charges rs. Rs 535/- and Rs. Rs. 530/- respectively but TS is economical as they charges less for More HD channels.
    3) I have both TS and Dish Connection in my home and imo there is hardly any difference in picture quality , both providing 1080i

    Regards,

  • Hi VG,
    I want to buy Airtel HD set top box + one year subscription.
    I beleive set top box will be free of cost with one year subscription
    I want to see all the packages including all the channels with these combinations.
    But none of the airtel representative are providing me with the channel name and package value.
    Airtel website is showing nothing for introductory offer with one year subscription.
    Can u please where should i find all the packages.
    If u have the info can u please send me
    I am in a hurry!!

  • VG

    ^^ Check following links:

    airtel.in/monthlypacks/
    airtel.in/digital-tv/dth-packages/browse-packages

    @Pradeep
    Not yet. If I get any update, will share here.

    @AMIT MITRA
    Thanks for your inputs. :)

  • I guess in ranking you should also consider DD sound in case of Ties. ADTV should be second in that case.

  • When will the Star Sports Select HD be laumched ? In their promo, the Star Sports shows that this channel its Coming Soon. Will it be in Aug at the time of inaugaration of Rio Olympics 2016 or Wimbledon begining this month-end.

    Any other New Channels Coming Soon from Star / Sony / Zee ?

  • VG

    ^^ It might launch on June 22.

    Following new channels are launching very soon:

    Sony WAH, Movies NOW 2, Zee Premier Cinema, News 18 Kerala, News 18 Tamil Nadu, News 18 Assam-North East.

  • When star vijay HD will be added in dishtv network?

  • VG

    ^^ I have no official information yet.

  • VG

    A new HD channel "FYI TV18 HD" is under testing and will be launched very soon by TV18 network. It'll be an infotainment channel similar to History TV18. :)

  • Dear VG,

    Sony Wah is already launched & available on Dish and DD Free Plus platforms....are the other channels mentioned like Movies NOW 2, Zee Premier Cinema, News 18 Kerala, News 18 Tamil Nadu, News 18 Assam-North East being launched in DTHs like TS and Dish or on cable platforms ? Zee Premier was earlier there also but Zee/ Essel discontinued it. On FYI TV18HD being launched on HD only as if it's on HD, Dish will not show it

  • VG

    ^^ FYI TV18 will launch in HD only similar to History TV18. DTH may add its downscaled SD feed if required.

    Other mentioned channels will add on DTH soon.

    Jaya TV HD also launching tonight.

  • when will be Star Vijay HD and Jaya TV HD added on Videocon D2h

  • VG

    ^^ No official date yet.

    By the way an important news for Tata Sky users! Tata Sky is going to change LCN of all channels from June 28 to July 8.

    3 digit channel numbers will continue on the platform. National channels will be spread out from 100 to 999. Channel 100 positions will not change. All regional channels will be migrated to 1000+ channel numbers.

  • Dear Sir
    I am using videocon d2h. I like star vijay channal. Any chance to add star vijay HD on Videocon d2h. this year videocon added only 3 HD channels.

  • Dear Sir
    Jaya HD Clarity is not good worst audio and video clarity.

  • It seems MTunes HD and History TV18HD are not true HD channels on Videocon D2H. On the logo HD written is not visible. What say?

  • VG

    ^^ Many HD channels such as MTunes, History TV18, EPIC, MTV Indies, Baby TV, Comedy Central, Nat Geo Music, VH1, etc dont have "HD" term in their logos but that doesnt mean that they are not true HD channels.

  • Movies Now 2 Launched , to be aired from 9pm today, 24 June 2016. The HD feed will be available from July end

    needless to say Dish TV subscribers unlikely to get the HD channel feed as Dish has gone into Sleep mode now for the past few months as far as addition of new hd channels are concerned

  • Movies Now 2 available on Tata Sky Channel # =383. No such luck for Dish TV viewers as of now

  • Dear VG,

    There was an advertisement published in The Times of India on 4th June 2016, Kolkata Edition, Page 3 by Times Network that their TV Channels like Times Now, ET Now, Movies Now, Romedy Now, MN+ , Zoom are going to be off the air in the DISH TV DTH platform on and from 26th June 2016 Due to Non Payment of the outstanding amount of subscription charges and non renewal of subscription agreement. I contacted DISH TV only to told that if channels are withdrawn the customers would be informed accordingly suitably !!!!! So, Dish TV subscribers are being treated like neighborhood Cablewallah subscribers while paying much more than to a cable TV operator.
    It is now clear why Times Gp channels like Romedy Now HD, Movies Now HD, Movies Now 2 , Magicbricks Now have not been added in Dish TV platform.

    For the kind information of Dish TV Subscribers

    Regards

  • VG

    ^^ It happens in all DTH. DTH companies threaten channel providers to make the payment otherwise they'll remove the channels. Sometimes they really remove the channels but after some time they add them back.

  • Dear VG,

    I think the above case is slightly different as the Broadcaster / Channel Provider Times Group has threatened the DTH Company DISH TV that they would remove the channels as the DTH Company has not renewed the subscription and paid the subscription charges . This is very commonplace in the Cable TV industry with the MSO ( Multiple System Operators ) and Broadcasters trading charges on non payement of dues, increase of subscription fee on packages and non renewal of agreement. In both the cases the end users i.e. the viewers suffers most as they could not see the channels of their choice in spite of paying full monthly payment of Monthly Subscription Fee to the cable operators. It is really unfortunate that this malaise has now spread to the DTH industry also where the subscribers are paying much more than the Cable TV subscribers just to get the basic service of getting the channels of his/her choice. This is ironic that most DTH subscribers are immigrants from Cable TV Platform and they were forced to switched over because they could not see the channels of their choice as Cable TV Subscribers .Where will the hapless DTH subscribers go now if DTH Subscribers of DISH TV have to come to the knowledge by reading the newspaper that channels by a broadcaster would be withdrawn as DTH Company has outstanding payments with the broadcaster when the subscribers has paid his monthly bill in full in advance ? TRAI seems to be overburdened with other issues and has little understanding of the entire gamut of this never-ending Debate

    Regards,

  • VG

    ^^ True. I agree with you.

  • VG

    FYI TV18 HD channel launching on July 4th.

  • Thanks for the info...they have chosen American Independence Day to Launch FYI TV 18 HD,,., Let's hope some more broadcasters launch new HD channels on or before 15th August :)

  • Dear VG, Regarding HD on the logo of the HD Channels I had mentioned, I have checked in Tata sky, it is there for History TV18 but not in Videocon D2H. Altough I have not checked for other channels.

  • VG

    ^^ Tata Sky adds those "HD" logos on HD TV channels which don't contain the "HD" term by default. The reason behind this strategy is to make users aware of the HD channels. Although its a silly thought in my opinion as anyone can know whether a channel is HD or not using the EPG and quality of the channel.

  • VG

    Dish TV has already started testing "FYI TV18" so the channel is coming soon on Dish TV. ;)

  • That's really a Gr8 news that Dish is adding FYI TV 18 but knowing Dish , I think it would be SD/Downscaled HD only . Any other channel addition by Dish ? They have not added 19 HD Channels and Channels like Movies Now 2

  • VG

    ^^ Yes. Its the downscaled SD feed and now they have added the channel on LCN 472.

  • Thanks. It is showing Test Transmission and channel 2 b launched on 4th. Maybe the HD Feed will be launched that day. Dish also Showing Zee Premiere on LCN 2206 and that too ad Test Signal

  • VG

    ^^ Btw Times NOW HD and Movies NOW 2 HD also coming very soon. ;)

  • That's a Great news for TS subscribers and must not be so for Dish. As Times Gp and Dish is having a round of bout still to go in TDSAT. Times Global Broadcasting Co Ltd has been restrained by the Telecom Disputes Settlement and Appellate Tribunal to implement its disconnection order, as published in the print media, against Dish TV Media Ltd. Listing the hearing on 1st Aug 2016 Times Global has been asked by TDSAT to file its reply within four weeks to the matter (which was admitted on 22 June 2016 ) and also asked Dish TV to file its rejoinder if any within two weeks thereafter.The Tribunal said any equitable arrangement about the relationship between the parties would be decided on the basis of the pleadings.
    Dish TV had challenged the disconnection notice for non-payment of alleges dues of approximately Rs 8 crore on two grounds.
    The first was that even after expiry of the agreements, the parties continued with the earlier arrangement under which Times Global owed more money to Dish TV for carriage than the amount it had to receive towards subscription.
    Secondly, it was alleged that the RIO ( Reference Interconnect Offer ) offered by Times Global was discriminatory.
    So as the slugfest between DISH & Times Group will continue, the Hapless Dish TV subscribers will have to keep their fingers crossed not in the hope of any new HD channels but have to pray hard that the existing channels from the Time a group like Times Now, Movies Now, Romedy Now, ET Now , MN+, ET Now are Not Withdrawn by the broadcaster !!! This is after paying more money to the DTH than Cable TV and still not getting the desired channels

  • Dear VG,
    Few months ago, heard something on DTH portability, something similar to MNP. When will it come? In my case I want to switch to TS keeping my costly d2h 4K STB. Is it possible at all?

  • Is there any reason Videocon d2h not adding new HD channels? Before some months they added quickly but in recent months they didn't even add single HD Channel.

  • VG

    ^^ It happens with all DTH. Videocon will add HD channels soon but no confirmed date yet.

    @Pranab
    Forget about DTH portability at the moment. It'll take at least 1 or 2 years in implementation.

  • VG

    Dish TV is in talk to purchase Videocon D2H. ;)

  • Has WB channel gone HD ? Nowadays whenever I surf to that channel, I found that movies are being shown on full scale and not on downscaled as earlier ! Or was it always HD and was being shown on Downscaled to SD by the broadcasters till now ?!?

  • VG

    ^^ No. Its still SD channel. Its good to see that many SD channels are now trying to telecast content in 16:9 aspect ratio suitable for LCD, LED TVs. Zee Studio, Zee Cafe, HBO, 9XM, Zoom, Food Food, etc are also telecasting content in 16:9 ratio.

    Btw HBO has got MIB permission to rename HBO Hits channel to HBO HD so get ready for the rebranding of HBO Hits channel. ;)

  • Dear VG,

    As per media reports earlier this week Star Sports Select HD channels - Star Sports Select HD1 and Star Sports Select HD2 will launch in the first week of August, and will be available on all major DTH and cable platforms. ( Ironically All Broadcasters says so on ' all major DTH' before launch of any new channels but the DTH Platforms show channels as per their whims / subject to financial agreement with the Broadcasters )

    Fans of premium international sports properties like English Premier League, Bundesliga, Formula One and the tennis grand slams (Wimbledon) will have to shell out more money, as telecast rights holder Star India has decided to remove these properties from its existing standard and high-definition channels.

    Alternatively, the broadcaster will launch two new premium HD sports channels - Star Sports Select HD1 and Star Sports Select HD2 this August - which will air these popular non-cricket international properties exclusively

    And for us subscribers of DTHs will continue to shell more money for the newly launched channels and suffer the fate of not able to see these new channels.

    Is there any relief from this ?!? Is it possible that Customers buy his chosen channels directly from the Broadcasters thus removing the middlemen roles of DTH Platform/ MSO/ Cable Operators ? Is it technically possible / financially viable for both Subscribers/Customers and Broadcasters ?

    Regards,

  • VG

    ^^ At the moment not possible at least in India. Only Internet and online services are your friend.

  • Good point raised Mr. Mitra...Hope we can have this soon.

  • when are we going to have sony sab hd,sony le plex hd,sony bbc earth hd

  • VG

    ^^ Cant confirm as Sony is always lazy in launching HD channels.

  • is there any upcoming hd channel this July month

  • VG

    ^^ There are many such as HBO HD, WB HD, SAB HD, Sony Le Plex HD, Star Sports Select HD, BBC Earth HD, etc but no confirmed date.

  • Zee is launching new channel Zee Yuva!!! Also they will add zee marathi hd .First it will come on dishtv

  • VG

    SPN has started testing Sony Le Plex HD. :)

  • insight hd is launched in india.it is available on my cable network.so why don't you add it in your list?

  • You forgot this thread is about HD channels in DTH, not any cable network!

  • Dear VG,
    FYI TV18 HD Not Lunch ?

  • VG

    ^^ Not available on any DTH yet. All are carrying downscaled SD feed.

  • Tata Sky is showing scrolls on its screens of 50+ channels that their LCN/ channel nos are going to be changed from 27th July . They have changed channel nos this month itself and the 4 day exercise was completed on 8th July. What happens that this is again being done ? Unnecessary harassment to subscribers that they have to adjust to the new LCN again ?!?

  • VG

    ^^ True. I think it has something to do with the new updated EPG and UI coming to Tata Sky+ Transfer box. They are going to release a new updated firmware for this STB tonight or in coming days which will introduce absolutely new and refreshing UI.

  • When Will sonyespnhd available on videocond2h.
    Will videocon provide starsportselecthd.

  • When is dish tv launching movies now 2 and star sports select hd???

  • Star Sports Select HD1 and HD2 is launching on 10th August. Sad that they are not showing the absorbing Eng-Pak Edgbaston Test citing scheduling conflict with Rio Olympics when it's still 2 days to go for the games to begin and they are having 8 Channels ( 4 SD +4 HD ) !!!!

  • Dear VG,

    Hope you are fine and keeping well. No posts from you for more than a week and thought maybe you are under the weather.

    Cheers & Best Regards

  • VG

    ^^ Actually there was nothing to update. Several HD channels are under testing and I'm waiting for some official information about their launch like Star Sports Select HD channels. Btw Tata Sky Transfer box has got a brand new UI via new update released today.

  • Hey VG!
    Any new channels coming on dish tv??? What about movies now 2???

  • Hey VG,

    Just wanted to know whether I can watch SD channel on my Tatasky HD setup box ?

  • Of course you can.
    It's Set Top Box (STB).

  • VG

    To celebrate 10th year anniversary, Tata Sky will be providing all channel and all services absolutely free to all customers from 8th August to 21st August. :)

  • Dear VG,

    That's a Great News for Tata Sky Subscribers like me. No such luck for another DTH Subscriber , also like me, whose DTH Service providers are showing 90 Years Young in their channels :)

  • There is a speculation in a section of Media that Sony is acquiring Ten Sports group of channels. Is it true ?

  • VG

    ^^ Yes. I have also heard these news. Nothing official yet.

  • VG

    Tata Sky is testing 3 HD channels:

    Star Sports Select HD 1
    Star Sports Select HD 2
    Maa HD

  • Tata Sky is adding Star Sports Select HD1 & Star Sports Select HD 2 from 11th Aug 2016 as confirmed by them over Facebook reply to my message of thanks and congratulations on giving 14 days free viewing of all including HD Channels on their 10th Anniversary Celebration. Following is the message from TS

    Dear Amit Mitra, thank you for the wishes and for being a part of the our family. We are also glad to inform you that Star Sports Select HD channels will be available on Tata Sky from 11th August 2016. Happy watching.

  • VG

    ^^ Nice.

  • Will Dish TV add Star Sports Select HD1 & HD2 the two new channels??? Any intel about release of these 2 channels from Dish TV???

  • @Abhishek Kumar My Experience with Dish TV on adding HD channels is that whenever they are requested to add any channels they send a formatted reply: 'We have taken note of your feedback and forwarded the request to our concerned team'. I tried every method of communications including social media and their formatted reply remains same. Only on Tweets to them they may call you back and would tell you that it is not possible to give any commitment on the exact date of adding channels. No wonder that they have slipped to the 3rd place in No of HD Channels

  • Tata sky today (11th Aug) added Star Sports Add on service HD (beside SSS HD1, 2 & Maa HD) which is telecasting Eng-Pak test match.

  • Sony Max HD now in 5.1 in Dish tv

  • Star sports select HD1&2 now in Airtel as well..

  • when will movies now 2 hd and times now hd launch

  • No. of HD in Airtel increased to 54, kindly correct MA TV HD also added

  • VG

    ^^ The list is correct. Airtel carries 53 HD channels. If you include its own Airtel Movies HD channel, then the count will be 54.

  • VG

    Tata Sky has launched exclusive Colors HD+1, Sony HD+1 and Zee TV HD+1 channels which broadcast TV shows with 1 hour delay of the same respective HD channels. It'll provide an opportunity to viewers to watch their favorite shows twice or immediately if they missed it by an hour.

  • it is true that d2h is merging with dishtv

  • VG

    ^^ Neither Dish TV nor Videocon is confirming the news but there are rumors about it.

  • VG

    Sony Le Plex HD channel is going to add on Tata Sky tomorrow.

  • All benefits to those whose connection is TATA Sky. Videocon D2H s**ks.

  • Gr8 News for Tata Sky Subscribers on Sony Le Plex channel addition. Dish added Zee Yuva , a Matathi Channel , today....of course in SD :)

  • Why Videocon d2h is not adding HD channels any more.

Leave a Comment

(required)