[Review] Which DTH Service Provides Maximum HD Channels in India?

UPDATED on May 29, 2016: Addition of Star Vijay HD channel on Airtel.

Ever since we posted our exclusive reviews and comparisons between India's major DTH (Direct-To-Home) services and also shared secret tricks to access hidden service menus in their set top boxes, various readers have asked us about the availability of HD (High Definition) channels on different DTH platforms.

People regularly send us emails asking whether a particular HD channel is available on their desired DTH platform or not. So today we decided to post another exclusive review and comparison list of all HD channels available on all Indian DTH platforms.

In this topic we'll tell you how many HD TV channels are available in India and which DTH service provides the maximum number of HD channels to its subscribers. It'll help you in deciding which DTH service provider is best for you.

We have 7 DTH service providers in India:

  • Tata Sky
  • Dish TV
  • Airtel Digital TV (ADTV)
  • Videocon D2H
  • Reliance Digital TV (RDTV)
  • Sun Direct
  • DD Direct+ (now renamed to "DD Free Dish")

DD Direct+ aka Free Dish is a free-to-air satellite service in India, actually its the only FTA satellite service in India. It doesn't provide any HD channel.

Following is the exclusive list of all HD channels available in India along with their availability on above mentioned DTH platforms:

NOTE: We are counting only true HD channels here. Dish TV claims to have maximum HD channels but some of them are upscaled HD channels not true HD channels. Upscaled HD channels are modified versions of SD channels with a little higher bitrate but you'll not notice much difference between SD and upscaled HD channels. Upscaled HD channels will never provide high picture quality as true HD channels do.

NOTE: The plus sign '+' indicates availability of Dolby Digital (DD) 5.1 Surround Sound.

HD Channel Name

Tata Sky

Dish TV

Airtel Digital TV

Videocon D2H

Reliance Digital TV

Sun Direct

Hindi GEC
Star Plus HD

Y+

Y+

Y+

Y+

Y

Y+

Sony HD

Y+

Y

Y+

Y+

-

-

Zee TV HD

Y+

Y+

Y+

Y+

Y

-

Colors HD

Y+

Y

Y+

Y+

Y

-

Life OK HD

Y+

Y+

Y+

Y+

-

-

&TV HD

Y+

Y+

Y+

-

-

-

Epic HD

Y+

-

-

-

-

-

Hindi Movies
Star Gold HD

Y+

Y+

Y+

Y+

Y

-

Zee Cinema HD

Y

Y

Y

Y

-

-

&Pictures HD

Y

Y

Y

Y

-

-

Sony Max HD

Y+

Y

Y+

Y+

-

-

Miniplex HD

Y

-

Y

-

-

-

English GEC
Star World HD

Y+

Y+

Y+

Y+

-

-

Star World Premiere HD

Y+

Y+

Y+

Y+

-

-

AXN HD

Y+

Y

Y+

Y+

-

-

Comedy Central HD

Y+

Y

-

-

-

-

Colors Infinity HD

Y+

Y

Y+

Y+

-

-

Zee Cafe HD

Y+

Y+

Y+

-

-

-

FX HD

Y+

-

Y+

-

-

-

English Movies
Sony Pix HD

Y+

Y

Y+

Y+

-

-

Star Movies HD

Y+

Y+

Y+

Y+

Y

Y+

Star Movies Select HD

Y+

Y

Y+

Y+

-

-

Movies NOW HD

Y+

-

Y+

-

-

-

MN+ (Movies NOW+) HD

Y+

Y+

Y+

Y+

-

Y+

Zee Studio HD

Y+

Y+

Y+

Y+

-

Y

HBO Hits HD

Y+

Y

Y+

-

-

-

Romedy NOW HD

Y+

-

Y+

-

-

-

Infotainment
Discovery HD World

Y+

Y

Y+

Y+

Y

Y+

TLC HD World

Y+

Y

-

Y

-

-

Animal Planet HD World

Y+

Y

-

-

-

Y+

National Geographic HD

Y+

Y+

Y+

Y+

-

Y+

History TV18 HD

Y+

Y

Y+

Y

-

-

FOX Life/Traveller HD

Y

Y+

Y

Y

-

-

Nat Geo Wild HD

Y+

Y

-

Y

-

-

Nat Geo People HD

Y

Y

-

-

-

-

Travel XP HD

Y

Y

-

Y

-

-

Sports
Star Sports HD1

Y+

Y

Y+

Y+

Y

Y+

Star Sports HD2

Y+

Y

Y+

Y+

Y

Y+

Star Sports HD3

Y+

Y

Y+

Y+

-

-

Star Sports HD4

Y+

Y

Y+

Y+

Y

-

Ten 1 HD

Y

Y

Y

Y

Y

Y

Ten Golf HD

Y

Y

-

-

-

-

Sony Six HD

Y+

Y

Y

Y+

-

Y+

Sony ESPN HD

Y+

Y

Y+

-

-

Y+

Music
MTunes HD

Y+

Y

Y+

Y+

Y

-

MTV Indies HD

Y+

Y

-

Y+

Y

-

Nat Geo Music HD

Y

Y

-

-

-

-

VH1 HD

Y

-

-

-

-

-

English News
CNBC TV18 Prime HD

Y

Y

-

Y

-

-

News X HD

Y

-

-

-

-

-

Teleshopping
Naaptol HD

Y

Y

-

Y

-

-

Kids Entertainment
Baby TV HD

Y

Y

-

-

-

-

Nick HD+

Y

Y

Y

Y

-

-

Da Vinci Learning HD

Y

-

-

-

-

-

Regional
Sun TV HD

Y+

Y

Y+

Y+

-

Y+

Sun Music HD

Y+

Y

Y+

Y+

-

Y+

KTV HD

Y

Y

-

Y

-

Y

Star Vijay HD

-

-

Y+

-

-

-

Gemini TV HD

Y+

Y

Y+

Y+

-

Y+

Asianet HD

Y+

-

Y+

Y+

-

-

Mazhavil Manorama HD

Y

-

Y

Y

-

-

Star Jalsha HD

Y+

-

Y+

-

-

-

Jalsha Movies HD

Y+

-

Y+

-

-

-

Colors Bangla HD

Y

-

Y

-

-

-

Colors Kannada HD

Y

-

Y

-

-

-

Colors Marathi HD

Y+

-

Y+

-

-

-

Star Pravah HD

Y+

-

Y+

-

-

-

Total HD Channels = 67

66

50

50

42

12

16

 

So if we look at the number, Tata Sky provides the maximum number of HD channels. Dish TV, Airtel Digital TV and Videocon D2H are close to it. Do we need to say anything about Reliance Digital TV and Sun Direct?

So the list of winners based on maximum number of HD channels is as following:

1st - Tata Sky (66)
2nd - Dish TV (50) and Airtel Digital TV (50)
3rd - Videocon D2H (42)
4th - Sun Direct (16)
5th - Reliance Digital TV (12)
6th - DD Free Dish (or DD Direct+) (0)

NOTE: Most of the Zee Network HD channels don't provide Dolby Digital (DD) 5.1 Surround Sound. Reliance Digital TV doesn't provide DD sound on any HD channel. DishTV provides DD sound on very less number of HD channels (only 13 channels). On the other hand, Tata Sky (46), Airtel (40), Videocon (29) and Sun Direct (13) provide DD sound on almost all available HD channels.

Exclusive HD Services List:

  • Tata Sky and Dish TV have launched French Open HD channel which is event-based channel and telecasts live Tennis matches in HD.
  • Videocon has started 2 new VOD (Video-On-Demand) HD channels "D2H Cinema HD" and "D2H Hollywood HD" which telecast latest Bollywood and Hollywood movies in HD. But they don't provide DD Sound.
  • Tata Sky has launched 9 Showcase HD channels which are PPV (Pay-Per-View) channels and telecast latest Hollywood and Bollywood movies in HD but without DD sound.
  • Tata Sky has also launched 3 Star Sports Add On Service HD channels which are event-based channels and telecast live Football matches.
  • Airtel has launched 2 Airtel Movies HD channels which are PPV (Pay-Per-View) channels and telecast blockbuster movies in HD but without DD sound.
  • Dish TV has launched Dish Buzz HD channel which telecasts Dish TV offers, advertisements and promotions.

One more thing to add! Videocon D2H and Airtel Digital TV provide 24x7 3D channels "D2H 3D Channel HD" and "Airtel Movies" respectively which show programs and movies in 3D format. Tata Sky has also started showing 3D blockbusters on its event-based channel "Showcase 3D" but its not a permanent channel.

We'll update this list whenever new HD channels become available on any DTH platform, so keep checking this page regularly...





Share this article: Facebook | Twitter | Google+ | Reddit | Tell a friend

Posted in: Gadgets & Internet


Other similar articles that may interest you


Comments

  • Thanks a lot VG. It will help many people including me. :)

  • Hey VG , before the rebranding of Star Sports Network in Nov. 2013 , I do remember Star Cricket HD was available on Dish TV . As of current naming , has Star Sports HD1 also departed from the channel list....

  • I personally prefer Videocon D2H. During the rains too, the signal is great unless it's raining really heavily. Only regret is they still don't have Star Sports 2 in the SD stream. Which one do you use VG?

  • VG

    ^^ I have used Tata Sky +HD, Airtel Digital TV HD with recorder and Dish TV +HD in past. I have also tried Videocon D2H on my relative home but my favorite is Tata Sky. I'm using it at the moment and its the best. It has the best hardware and best software UI. ADTV also provides similar hardware and UI but TS is better. TS was lacking in HD channel section but now it has 24 HD channels and many are going to add soon.

    Videocon's hardware and UI is not very good IMO.

    @Addy
    Star Sports HD1 and HD2 not available on Dish TV.

  • Yes UI is important. Too bad I couldn't try the UI of all of them. Your life is jhingalala :D

  • VG

    ^^ lol.

  • thanks, using Tata Sky as well

    I noticed that, non-HD channel in Tata Sky costs even more than corresponding HD channel, example Star World.

  • I was very keen on getting dish TV ..but the fact that either star sports hd2 and hd1 are not there stings a little ..being a sports enthusiast!! Thank you VG :)

  • package paid but sports channel not received, videocon pls look into it

  • Hello
    I live in the Middle East and I have sat top box dish tv hd with Recorder
    Now I have a problam I do not get in my area NSS 6 I realize just asia sat 5
    I have a problem with updating software EPG I do not get NSS 6 so I can not Ladgn software or channels
    Can I update software EPG via PC or just with ASIA SAT 5?
    And if I can update the converter only channels are work by my country?
    Thank you...

  • There are only four grand-slam tennis events each year. This year Tata Sky has decided to punish tennis lovers by leaving them in the lurch and no one can watch the French Open Tennis. Dish TV is providing this on Neo Sports and Neo Prime.
    I wonder if Tata Sky would have done this to an IPL Cricket programme.
    Truly disgusted!

  • I want to say vg I'm using tata sky for 6 years now and I switched to tata sky hd 1 year ago but I requested tata sky to add some popular hd channels but they don't why it happens vg otherwise I didn't face any problem with tata sky in these six years

  • VG

    ^^ They'll not add any channel on your request. They'll add the channel only if the channel is in high demand or if the channel provider is providing money to Tata Sky.

  • Videocon d2h is gaining momentum between 2 giants of d2h service ..... I'm satisfied with it and do recommend them !

    Awesome Service !

  • how can i find new channels or auto search them in dd direct plus or free dish servissss .. thankyou.. vg..

  • VG

    ^^ You'll need to do following 2 things:

    1. Find the dish parameters of desired channels and move the dish antenna in correct position.
    2. Input those parameter values in STB and then search for channels.

  • Hey! If I want to install a new connection, what shall I go for? I have heard TATA sky doesn't work properly in rains ? Is it true? Is it good to buy Dish (tata or dish tv) or set top box (videocon or airtel digital) ?

    Kindly guide me.

  • VG

    ^^ There is no DTH company which provides signals in rain. You'll always have outage problems while its raining.

  • When Sun music HD will be available in Airtel DTH HD???

  • VG

    ^^ No official news but they may add it soon due to Diwali festival.

  • When did add V6 News & 10Tv & Express Tv & Gemini Life,Gemini News,Gemini Action,Kushi Tv,Vissa Tv,Cine21 On TataSky DTH Platform

  • VG

    ^^ Only Tata Sky knows. We cant wait for some days. Its possible that TS adds some new channels on Diwali.

  • Airtel dth best-true sound,pic and good customer service(18001028080/12150)
    tata sky -poor customer care and STB price high

  • Airtel dth had ala-carte pack,which give all chnls,
    any time add/remove,any chnls when need.

  • Pls let me know the price of Latest TopBox ok

    waiting for your reply soon ok

  • VG

    ^^ You can check DTH provider websites to know their set top box prices.

  • I M new to DTH HD world. plz let me know whether dish tv picture quality is good or not

  • VG

    ^^ Dish TV picture quality is good.

  • Hi VG i ve read Videocon provides 1080p signal whearas tata sky provides 1080i signal.
    Does this means Tata sky is not fulll HD but HD ready , and Videocon is full HD.

  • VG

    ^^ You'll not notice any difference in HD channels quality in any DTH.

  • Goodmorning,
    I am on south royale hd pack 599 activated in india and currently using in saudi arabia.
    We are getting only hd channels and need to add gemini hd into my pack.it is showing gemini hd and send DISHTV 93 to 57575 from the registered no.I have already forwarded the same bt telling me to add on hd packs.

    Please solve me the above issue.

    Regards
    Arif

  • I am shbscribing south platinum HD package, I find very difficult to operate RF controlled remote in videocon d2h, and it hangs often what to do, i have already changed my remote twice but problem persist. Thinking of switching over to dish TV.

  • Great and very useful list.
    For completeness, could you also update which of those are also broadcasted in Dolby Digital 5.1 Surround Sound? It would be a very very useful info. Also, the scenario keeps changing, channels get added/deleted. It would be best if the date on the which the list was made is also published.
    Thank you for the great work.

  • VG

    ^^ Thanks for the suggestion. I'll try to implement it. Regarding the update date/time, I can assure you that the list is immediately updated as soon as a DTH company adds a new HD channel.

    UPDATE: I have added some information about availability of DD sound on HD channels.

  • Asia's No 1 Network Dish Tv

  • Hi VG, today I bought Sony bravia. Planning to buy HD STB could you please help me for getting better HD STB. Which HD STB is the best in India

  • VG

    ^^ IMO Tata Sky provides the best STBs. You can also go with Airtel.

  • One more question. Which dth service providing quality HD channels? Please share your review.

  • VG

    ^^ HD channel quality is almost same in all DTH services.

  • I'm from chennai. I want only 11 HD channels which are all available in Sun direct. I'm planning to buy the same. What are the disadvantages of Sun Direct? Please share your review.

  • VG

    ^^ If you are satisfied with less numbers of HD channels, there should be no problem in going with Sun Direct.

  • please let us know when can we expect TLC on Sun DTH service?

  • Thanks VG, for useful information on your site and to maintain it regularly by new updates.
    Please help me know about Hathway HD services in Mumbai, does they offer true HD with DD surround.

  • VG

    ^^ As far as I know they do. Better to ask their CC or check their website.

  • Wow, didn’t realize DishTV had the maximum number of HD channels, I am DishTV subscriber but this is surprise to me, a pleasant one!

  • cost wise which is best economic in d2h services

    Why Dish TV having maximum HD channels. what is problem in tata sky & videocon having not.

  • VG

    ^^ DishTV doesnt have any TP space problem, so it provides so many HD channels. On the other hand, other DTH companies are having space problems to add channels.

  • The best comparison available on the net for Indian STv. I will remain with my 42 HD channels.

    Thought, I have a suggestion. If you could update above table with 5.1, DD Plus etc provided. You can use * or # if 5.1 is available for provider and channel.

    (I am afraid, I am asking too much, Thanks VG.)

  • VG

    ^^ Done. :)

  • You are doing a great job. Keep it up. I visit your website almost everyday to check any addition of new HD channels. Why don't you do a review of Videocon D2H also? If possible 4K as well.

  • Any idea when/whether Sun Music HD will be added in TATA SKY?

  • VG

    ^^ Now now but following HD channels are coming soon:

    &TV HD
    &Pictures HD
    AXN HD
    Fox Life HD

  • which company is providing cheap HD channels..

  • What about the price ?

  • IMO cost wise Videocon HD is the best. 35 HD channels (New South Platinum HD Pack) for Rs.590 per month. (Star world Premier costs another Rs.60/month).All other DTH providers are expensive and also they don't even have such option of opting for all HD channels in one pack.

  • Hi there;

    VG - Congrats on providing useful Tips to quickly know whats the best DTH HD ..

    We need a Connection in Coimbatore in Tamil Nadu.

    Do you think TATA SKY would be BEST deal , I decide so based on your reviews.

    Ppl do revert if you feel TATA SKY is not good in these areas, cos i recently heard some connect issues. I need your tips as you all seem genuine users. MOST reviews are by PAID TROLLS..!

    Thanks once again to ALL & VG.

    Much Regards

    AJ

  • VG

    ^^ Tata Sky service is quite good. Check the plans and channels in all DTH and go with the one which fits best for your requirements.

  • Hi there.

    VG - Firstly thanks for all the useful tips you provide us.
    I paid North HD royal pack on DISHTV but all the HD channels showing no signal.
    What do i have to do to get them working, do i have to add a transponder or frequencies or anything else. SD channels are good.
    By the way i'm in Afghanistan NSS 6

  • VG

    ^^ Sorry but I cant help much since you are not living in India. But you can try following:

    http://www.askvg.com/revealing-hidden-secret-service-menu-in-dish-tv-dth-set-top-box/

  • Thanks VG

  • when add sun music hd channel in tatasky platform

  • Nick HD

  • VG

    ^^ Yes. Nick HD+ is going to be added on Tata Sky very soon may be within this week.

    @THH
    Added yesterday.

  • By any chance , we can watch STAR VIJAY as HD channel near future!!!

  • VG

    ^^ At the moment no chance.

  • Why I didn't get HD channel in tatasky receiver?? Pls help me

  • plz update list

  • VG

    ^^ The list is already up to date. I updated it on Nov 06 and no new HD channel has been added on any DTH after that update.

  • Thankzzzzzzzzz

  • AnyBody tell me when this channel (Epic HD, FX HD, Miniplex HD, Nick HD+ ) add in DishTV.

  • VG

    ^^ No official information but Nick HD+ will launch at the end of this month or starting of December.

  • When HD channels namely Animal Planet HD, Epic HD, &TV HD, HBO Hits, HBO Defined, Miniplex, Zee Cafe HD, FXHD are being added in Videocon D2H. Also which are the other HD channels being launched in near future.

  • VG

    ^^ No official information about those HD channels addition on Videocon D2H. Regarding upcoming HD channels, following are a few:

    Sab HD
    Max HD
    Nick HD+
    Insight HD
    Romedy Now HD
    BBC Earth HD
    VH1 HD
    Mazhavil Manorama HD

  • VG, we know you from the very beginning for your great guide on Windows and Windows-based applications. Now, glad to know your help for choosing Dish connection too. Thanks VG.

  • videocon d2h no HD channel updates...?

  • VG

    ^^ Yeah. No HD channel addition on any DTH.

    @Laxmikant Bhumkar
    Thanks.

  • Okay..
    Thanks.

  • Hi;
    I have a question; recently i bought a Samsung 43" LED which supports Dolby/ DTS/5.1 sound. Is Airtel/Videocon provides 5.1/DD sound through HDMI or SDPIF/Coaxial? i dont want to buy HomeThetre, but need 5.1/DD sound on my TV.

  • VG

    ^^ Yes on a few HD channels.

  • Pls MinipleHD Ka logo change karo on Tatat Sky.
    pls add Set Max HD on Tata Sky.......................

  • Hi there, I have airtel HD set top box, since they don't have Animal planet HD, Nat geo wild HD, TLC HD so I want to change my service provider (Dish TV). Can I do the DTH portability? If yes then what is the procedure?

  • Hi VG,

    I am following you a lot for quite some time. In this segment I too have some concerns. I believe channels in India do not provide FHD quality. If we compare the picture quality which we watch in laptop (720p movies) it has brilliant picture and sound but same does not happen with DTH as all DTH have claimed that non-HD channels in HD set-top box provides 720p resolution which I believe is not true. What is your opinion in this?

  • I have both Dish TV HD + and Videocon d2h HD connections but both of them had not added recently launched HD Channels like FX HD, Movies Now HD, Nick HD, EPIC HD. Are these channels exclusively launched for Tata Sky ? I had Tata Sky connection for 9 years but I quit it as they were not and still not giving Neo Sports and Neo Prime on their platform. Any idea about the DTH Portability as promised by Min of I & B in 2013 ?

  • VG

    ^^ Forget about DTH portability at least for one year. Regarding those HD channels, they are not exclusive to Tata Sky but at the moment Tata Sky has lots of free TP space, thats why they are adding channels quickly.

    @Litton
    No. SD channels are same in HD boxes as they were in SD boxes. You'll get 720P or 720i resolution in HD channels only.

    @Sachin
    No. DTH portability is not yet launched in India. You'll need to buy a new connection.

  • Thanks VG for all the informations. TS recently launched Singapore based Channel News Asia International (CNAI ) on Nov 19th .It was also available in MSO/ Cable Platforms earlier.Dish TV has withdrawn BBC World News nearly two years back.Is it because Dish/Zee does not want to show other reputed international News Channels like BBC bcz it promotes CNN ( of Turner Broadcasting ) who in turn has a tie up with Time Warner ( for Broadcasting its programmes in U.S.) as Time Warner has shares in Dish / Zee ?!? In order to show that they are showing maximum International News Channels Dish claims that they show channels like France 24,Russia Today,CCTV,NHK World,DW TV but this is on its DD Free Dish Accessories and these channels have very low viewership . I read in Print/Web Media that this is the precise reason why Tata Sky does not show Neo Channels ( who has the rights for French Open,Davis Cup, PGA Tour,Dutch Soccer League etc as TS promotes Fox Sports Channels ( as Star Sports in India ) as it has a tie up with Fox. Same Reason for FX HD not available in other DTHs as Dish had never had any Transponder Space Non Availability problem and TS always had. One More query. On contacting Dish TV I was informed that there are No Movies Now HD channel as such and Movies Now shown on SD format on the DTH platforms are also shown on HD feeds/streams. For Example EPIC SD , Comedy Central SD ( is shown Full Screen on FHD TVs ) is simulcast as Epic HD 7 Comedy Central HD whereas Movies Now HD cannot show Full Screen on FHD TVs also as it is SD Simulcast Is it True ? I have FHD TV and HD STBs of both Dish True HD+ and Videocon d2h HD DTH

  • VG

    ^^ Some TV channels provide separate feeds of their SD and HD channels such as Star Plus, Zee, Sony, etc, thats why you'll see different programs on SD and HD feeds of those channels.

    But some TV channels such as Movies NOW, Comedy Central, EPIC, History TV18, etc only provide HD feeds. There is no SD feed available of these channels. These are the MSO and DTH companies who are downscaling the HD feeds and showing them as SD channels.

    Movies NOW is only an HD channel and Tata Sky showing it as HD as well as SD in downscaled mode. All other DTH are only showing it as downscaled SD feed.

    Regarding your other query, thats true. Partnerships make a big difference in decisions of channel addition. After all they all are doing business. Isn't it?

  • Thanks VG for these informations . Really Helpful Infos..

  • There was a channel Magicbricks Now, a Real Estate & Property channel from Times Group, was launched last month. Is it available on any DTH Platform ? (Not at least in Dish & Videocon d2h , as I have both)

  • VG

    ^^ Not yet.

  • Miniplex HD Added Tomorrow ADTV

  • VG

    ^^ Yes. ADTV Home channel's EPG is also showing.

  • Hi VG,
    Thanks a lot for this comprehensive list. You have covered every aspect of the DTH quality and based on this sheet I opted for Tata Sky HD.

    I must say that i am extremely pleased with this connection. I have opted for the Grand Sports Pack and i get 39 HD channels including Star Premiere HD. The only ones missing now are the HBO Premium Channels (hits & Defined) and they are available for 99/month.

    It's a treat to come back home and watch movies or programs via the HD channels provided by Tata Sky. I just wish more HD channels become available in the near future.

    Thanks again for your hard work.

    Cheers,
    John

  • VG

    ^^ Don't worry! HBO premium channels are going to shut down on January 1st, 2016. HBO HD is going to launch in that place.

  • Dear VG,

    I think keeping in mind of the amazing efforts you have put in helping Subscribers in Proper Selection for DTH Platforms by this Chart , on the Maximum Nos. of HD Channels, they should also be informed on the Premium SD Channels that they are likely going to Miss on a particular DTH. For example Tata Sky does not have Neo Prime and Neo Sports Channels (inspite of having Telecasting Rights of French Open Tennis , Davis Cup,PGA ,Dutch Soccer League ) Dish TV doesn't have BBC World News ,Videocon d2h &Dish both dosen't have News Asia to name a few.

    Thanks Again for your Stupendous Efforts on Putting these Charts and Specially keeping in mind of the Deadline for DAS is nearing (31-Dec-2015 ) . There will be many migrations from Cable TV to DTH and your chart will be of immense help to the New Customers of the DTH.

    Regards,

    Amit Mitra

  • Max HD will be on air from 25th Dec..Will it be available on all the DTH platforms or on selected few ?!?

  • VG

    ^^ It'll be added on Tata Sky. The addition date is not confirmed yet but there are chances that the channel might add on 25th Dec on Tata Sky. If it doesnt happen, then it'll be added on 1st January 2016 for sure. There is no confirmation from other DTH but the channel will be available on all DTH soon.

  • Hi Vj,

    Possible to share upcoming HD channels on Airtel DTH with dates?

  • VG Thanks for the insights provided. A few days ago read in Wiki about upcoming HD channels in India in 2016. Can we expect Sony ESPN HD in 2016 considering their collaboration? Also any updates on WB HD, SAB HD and any News Channel HD? Thanks

  • VG

    ^^ There is no news about SAB HD and WB HD. We can expect new HD channels from Sony ESPN collaboration though. No news HD channel is going to launch in near future.

    @sachin
    Only Max HD is confirmed at the moment.

  • Hey VG, Thanks! Your review really helped me a lot as i was well confused between airteldth, dishtv & tatasky, will go with tatasky for now.

  • Added On Sun Direct
    1. Animal Planet HD World
    2. MN + HD
    4. Ten HD

  • When Sub TV will launch in HD on videocon

  • VG

    ^^ Sab TV has no HD feed yet. It'll launch very soon and then DTH will add it.

  • As per their Customer Care Feedback Team, SONY MAX HD and Nick HD will be added on Dish TV on 04-Jan-2016 Monday. He also gave the Max HD No as LCN 14. Tata Sky now leads the HD Channels with 48, on Monday Dish will edge past to regain top slot on Nos of HD Channels

  • VG

    ^^ Dish TV has already started testing of these 2 HD channels so chances are very high that the addition will happen on tomorrow or on Jan 4th as you mentioned.

  • Is HD TV is compulsory for Tata Sky HD dth connection? or any LCD or LED TV will work?

  • @SJ: Any CRT, LCD (CCFL-backlit LCDs) or LED (LED-Backlit LCDs) TV is working with TataSky HD DTH connection. However, you will have to pay extra HD Access Fee for the Month/Year, if you want to watch any HD channel.

  • dish tv added Max HD and Nick HD

  • I want to connect My HD DTH box to hometheater for Dolby sound. Which one is better Videocon or Tata sky. currently I m using Videocon HD. Plz help .sound Quality??

  • when will come animal planet hd on videocon d2h

  • any up coming hd on videocon d2h

  • VG

    ^^ No official news yet. But you can expect Sony Max HD soon on Videocon.

    @Vilas
    Videocon doesnt provide Dolby Digital sound. It only provides 5.1 surround sound. So Tata Sky would be better for you.

  • discovery hd and animal planet HD provide 5:1 sound since the last 6-9 months on dish tv.

  • Asianet hd available in dishtv or not

  • DTH provider's plans are kind of complicated. IE TATA Sky's South pack etc. I can't understand cause I'm not interested in south Indian channels.

  • Dear VG,

    why dishTv displays at 1080i and not 1080p but still claims true HD, or is there any solution to change STB settings to receive 1080p resolution?

    Regards

  • VG

    ^^ Almost all DTH use 1080i resolution for HD channels. I think Videocon uses 1080p, can't confirm it.

  • As per Media Reports Sony Pictures Networks India (SPN) is all set to launch its two sports channels namely Sony ESPN and Sony ESPN HD in collaboration with ESPN on Sunday, 17 January. Any News whether these two channels will be available on DTHs ( Dish and d2h) or on TS only as the report says that the Sony ESPN channels will kick-off their sporting calendar with the live broadcast of the first Grand Slam of the year, the Australian Open ?

  • VG

    ^^ The current Sony KIX channel will be re-branded to Sony ESPN so all DTH having Sony KIX channel will automatically have the new Sony ESPN channel. The HD feed will be added separately but no confirmation yet.

  • Thanks VG, i have checked videocon at by brothers house it provides 1080p whereas dishTv which i have is providing 1080i. that means the claim of true HD is base less they all are upscale (Interlaced).

    thanks
    Nafees
    Pakistan.

  • @Nafees. I have both Dish & d2h HD connections and imo, it is very difficult to differentiate between 1080i & 1080p. You may be aware that Dish is providing 49 HD Channels whereas d2h have 38 HD and channels like HBO Hits, Sony Max HD,Animal Planet HD World, Nat Geo People HD,Nick HD+ &TV HD are missing in Videocon d2h. VG has latest list on Nos. of HD channels and if you go through the blog's postings and if memory serves me right, the last HD channels d2h has added was TLC HD World and that was around 8 months back. Their Customer Service is Pathetic and if you ever put any comments /requests on their FB wall on the non-availability of channels they would curtly tell you that this is not the place to ask for channel addition and advise you to go to a link to lodge your complaint/request. Then you will receive routine formal reply. It is upto you to decide that you will go for lesser nos. of HD channels ( with not too less difference in package price )or on PQ of 1050i/1080p. Only One Important Channel is missing in Dish is BBC World News.

  • Dear Amit,

    Many thanks for your detailed reply, besides above DishTV is the only network which provides Pakistani channels and I live in Karachi, Pakistan and this is the reason customer service doesn't matter to me as when ever I ask anything from customer service they say please contact your local dealer. but my matter of concern is that they claim of true HD which is wrong in my opinion due to 1080i (upscale) and not full HD 1080p.

    Regards
    Nafees

  • further to above any idea when HBO hits will be replaced as i had already paid for HBO. and its already 12 days past of January.

  • VG

    ^^ No official date yet. But it'll be re-branded very soon.

  • Dear Nafees,

    Thanks for your reply.I was not aware that Dish TV is available in Pakistan. The only TV Programme syndicated from Pakistan that we can see here is on Zindagi Channel (Zee Network /Essel Group who owns Dish TV here ).You may be aware that programmes of Zindagi like Zindagi Gulzar Hain became very popular in India and was telecast several times. Fawad Khan went on to win the Filmfare Award also. As I never watches/d serial or Hindi GECs, I read it all in the Media.BTW, which channel in Pakistan is showing the NZL ODI & T20 Series ? I don't think we can see it here as India-Aus series timing here is clashing with that.I never miss Pak overseas matches as they have stupendous record overseas since the days of Fazal Mahmood in the '50s when they won in 1954 in the Oval Test vs Eng, (17 years b4 us) and for their sheer unpredictability and Fast Bowling Talents. Ten Sports/Taaz Television Network ( also part of Zee Group / Dish TV here )shows the Pakistan matches here but I checked their website to find that their schedule doesn't have Pak-Nzl series. Still remember that 40b 89 by Abdul Razzaq in 2004 Jan vs NZL in W'ton. Pakistan missed it by just 4 runs chasing 308. Will miss similar actions this time.

    Regards,

    Amit Mitra

  • I am using Dish TV HD, when we will get Asianet HD & Mazhavil manoram HD channels.

  • Max HD, Nick+HD, Asianet HD & Manorama HD Addition On Videocon D2H

  • my Exp is videocon is best but less Hd ch

  • Thanks Amit,
    yes DishTv, Videocon, TataSky, and all others are available in Pakistan but all illegal but still a huge market for DTH, I am highly impressed with your cricket knowledge as i am not interested in sports but still watch only those matches where Pakistan participates, however NZL/PAK showing by PTV Sports (Pakistan's Local sports channel).

    Regards
    Nafees

  • Thanks Nafees,
    On Cricket, Congrats to you as Pak beat NZL on a day when We could not defend 309 ( twice within 3 days ) in an ODI while Pak Defended 171 in a T20I in NZL. On Sports and TV serials you may be aware that Sachin Tendulkar made his debut in the same Test in your hometown in 1989 ( alongwith Waqar Younis ( your present coach ) and Salil Ankola who became a TV Star later and acted in some serials

  • DISH TV Has added SONY ESPN HD on Channel #87 Today while Sony Kix was Rebranded was SONY ESPN Yesterday by SPN. Videocon d2h , As Usual, has Not Added SONY ESPN HD.I think TS, Airtel or even RDTV must have added SONY ESPN HD by now.

  • Hi VG ,

    Firstly , Thanks & Congrats on putting up a great comparsion on HD Channels .

    I want to know which are the True HD channels and which of them are upscaled ones ?

  • Hi, Does any one have idea about when Videocon D2H will be adding recently launched HD Channels e.g. SONY ESPN HD, MAX HD etc. ?

  • Update..Page..

  • Dear Amit,

    Once again i'm amazed by your indepth knowledge of cricket and amazing memory, thanks for the update about newly added channel Sony ESPN HD will check today evening and hope it will telecast Pakistan/NZL series.

    Regards

    Nafees

  • Videocon d2h to launch of Asianet
    HD and Mazhavil manorama HD
    from 20 jan 2016
    Asianet HD @991
    Mazhavil Manorama HD @990

  • Any update of Sony ESPN HD on Videocon D2H?

  • Any updates of addition of Sony ESPN HD & Animal Planet HD world in Videocon d2h ??

  • VG

    ^^ No. I'll update the list as soon as any addition happens.

  • Dear VG,

    please advise where can I find channels list of DishTv?

    Regards
    Nafees

  • VG

    ^^ Check following:

    dishtv.in/Pages/DIY/Pic-By-Chanel.aspx
    dishtv.in/Pages/Packs/DTH-Channels-Packages.aspx

  • Is there any news about HBO defined's replacement?

  • VG

    ^^ HBO Defined channel is dead and HBO Hits channel will be re-branded as HBO HD in near future.

  • I had used dish tv tru Hd for couple of years. Believe me the customer care is really worst. Hardware is not good. Switched to videocon d2h and it is fine so far. Customer care is also good. They are prompt. But they don't have Sony Espn HD. Can anyone suggest other service provider is good interms of customer care and maximum HD channels.

  • VG

    ^^ Tata Sky is best in terms of hardware and customer care. Also they have almost all HD channels now and since a few months, they are rapidly adding new HD channels. But Tata Sky is costly.

  • @shanthi, Tata Sky doesn't have Neo Sports and Neo Prime Channels . If you are Sports Enthusiast, you will miss French Open , Davis Cup , Dutch League, Bangladesh Cricket Matches. TS also doesn't have Nat Geo People HD,Travel XP HD, Nat Geo Music, MTV Indies HD, Two Malayalam HD Channels ( Asianet HD ,Mazhavil Manorama HD as shown in the List of channels by VG in this blog ). But,TS Service is Really Very Good ( my experience was as a TS Subscriber btwn 2005-14), earlier they had transponder problems so they could not add channels as fast as they are doing nowadays.My suggestion is if you want to watch all the HD channels , keep a DTH connection which is having all that / Your Favourite ( must watch HD Channels ) and keep another DTH connection as standby on its minimum price package with adding the one that you are missing as a la carte in that package. I read somewhere that Dish is having the minimum package of Rs. 99/- for the DAS III Phase Cities , may be available in Rest of India also now

  • I have recently bought 4k tv, Can you pls suggest which 4k DTH should I go with. I stay in Bangalore.
    Thanks

  • VG

    ^^ Currently no DTH is prefect for 4K TV as there are very few 4K content available. A few DTH such as Tata Sky and Videocon launched 4K STB but due to non-availability of 4K content and channels it was a fail.

    So I'll advise you to not go with any 4K STB at the moment and wait for some time until better 4K STB and more 4K content become available.

  • hi bro my tata sky id has been blocked & now i can nt recharge or watch TV. what to do now? i m from Bangladesh

  • VG

    ^^ You should contact their customer care. Only they can help you in this matter.

  • airtel.in/dthinfo/
    plz chk the above link what is happening in airtel dth ....
    and i m not able to see the above three channel colors infinity hd, fx hd & nick hd and then i called customer care they said these channel will replace the zee channels which are (&tv hd , &pictures hd , zee cinema hd) then i asked them for provide these channel they told me that it will charge extra.. whereas i had opted for their highest hd pack of Rs204....

  • Hi VG,

    I have a query regarding Life OK HD channel which I have been observing for a month or so that the screen jumps or flickers in small margin predominantly. I called ADTV customer care, they came and performed resetting. But I noticed same issue. Kindly let me the reason behind this.

    Moreover I observed while changing audio settings on ADTV; if preferred audio on HDMI is changed to DD+ then SonyMaxHD does not provide sound while all other channels provide sound but normally on DD it works fine. What would be the reasons?

  • VG

    ^^ There is some problem in Sony Max HD channel when the audio is selected as DD+. Regarding Life OK HD flickering issue, it might be a problem at ADTV side.

  • any news about &tv hd and sony espn hd on videocond2h. any news plz tell us,why &tv hd not been added on vd2h.

  • Is there any broadband internet service by DTH Set-Top Box available in india?

  • VG

    ^^ No but soon Tata Sky, Videocon and Airtel will launch STB or apps for STB to browse Internet.

    @arya
    Not yet.

  • Which plan should I choose for the fastest internet under 2000 rs.

  • Videocon D2H is the best if you consider value for money

  • now Sony MAX HD has DD5.1 on Airtel. Plz update

  • When they(TATA SKY) are planning to launch Romedy Now HD? It has been a long time Since Romedy Now HD launched.

  • Hi VG,

    Firstly, I called Airtel Customer care and requested to modify/update the website as it is not thoroughly detailed with regards to package comparison and HD channels linked with each package, in short the user interface is not that friendly in reply they got annoyed saying how can you say as we have not got any complaint regarding this and started arguing.

    Secondly, third party wallet (PayTM and Mobikwik) provide cashback offers on recharging DTH to all networks and platforms except Airtel customers. On that basis I contacted Paytm and they replied that Airtel has detained promoting offers with PayTM. With such detail I called Airtel customer care regarding same and they told to send a mail which I did for past 2 weeks but no reply. Later I called but they disconnected the call.

    With frustration I requested for cancellation and they told that upon cancellation they will take back the set-top box and antenna as its Airtel property. On questioning I paid for those then they replied its Airtel's property.

    I do not know what is going on and very unhappy with their customer support. Kindly guide me as I believe this is purely a concern of consumer affairs misguiding and cheating common people.

  • VG

    ^^ Set top box and other hardware is always DTH company property even though we pay for them. They can take back them if we cancel the connection. Although it doesnt happen generally but I have seen cases when Dish TV asked old customers to return STBs and other hardware when they stopped recharging their accounts.

  • Hi VG,

    Just a small suggestion and guidance needed regarding purchasing an LED TV 32". Is it worth going for FHD or HD Ready will suffice. Do we notice any difference viewing HD channels on HD ready or FHD for a 32" LED.

    Secondly which brand would you suggest?

  • VG

    ^^ Full HD definitely. Always go with the latest technology. You can choose between Sony and Samsung. Check out menus and features and go with the model which suites best to your needs. Samsung supports more file formats than Sony if you are going to watch videos using USB drives.

  • Hi VG,

    Thanks in advance for your efforts and support.

    I purchased Sony LED which is best I believe in terms of picture depth resolution.

    I got HD set-top box and has recording capability via USB. I recorded a small program and while trying to view on my PC (Windows 10) it does not support. When I tried to browse those recorded files it shows many files but one file which was 1GB in size shows .STR format.

    Hence my question goes as: is there any converter to view on PC?

  • VG

    ^^ No. You cant play recorded content on PC. They are encrypted.

  • NOTE 1: HBO Hits HD channel will be re-branded as HBO HD very soon by the broadcaster.

    Noted 1 when it will be arrived?

  • VG

    ^^ Its a delay from the broadcaster. It might be re-branded in April.

  • Hi VG,

    Recently last Nov-Dec there was additional tax (0.5%) so in total 14.5% to be paid by subscribers for entertainment like DTH and effective from today there has been an increase on my monthly pack of Airtel DTH. Why we common people need to suffer whenever budget say so. Why not telecom provider are targeted on tax, why only on consumers.

  • Videocon D2H has also increased the rate of their Pack from 12th March, 2016.

  • Dear VG,

    Videocon D2H Way New Channel Not Adding Like,

    Ten GOLF HD
    Sony ESPN HD
    Movies NOW HD
    Zee CAFE HD
    Net GEO Music HD
    Net GEO People HD
    FX HD
    Comedy Central HD
    Animal Planet HD
    Baby TV HD

    When Add This HD Channels Videocon d2h.

  • Seriously you guys are very fast added DD to &TVHD on ADTV as soon as it got added, superior commitment towards this blog.
    i have added it on my bookmarks bar.

    P.S: it was because of my mail they have added DD on both SOny MAX and & &TVHD.

  • Sony ESPN HD Added By Sun Direct

  • Hi, can you publish for 4K channels review

  • VG

    ^^ Currently there is no official 4K channel available in India. Travel XP will launch its 4K channel in coming months. A few DTH provide a single and their own 4K channel to show 4K content. Nothing much there at the moment.

  • which one has better picture quality tata sky or videocon d2h? is videocon d2h truly provide 1080p?

  • Tata sky is launching 10 new HD channels on 2nd April 2016 @ 17:00
    The channel names are Romedy Now HD, Baby TV HD, Da Vinci HD, NGC People HD, Travel XP HD ,Mazhavil Manorama HD, MTV Indies HD, VH1 HD ,Nat Geo Music HD, Naaptol HD. Any one can verify this by contacting directly to tata sky customer care... So, technically tata sky will have all the hd channels..........

  • VG

    ^^ The addition has been postponed to April 5.

    @hritik
    Both provide almost similar PQ.

  • Ten HD renamed as TEN1 HD

  • any up coming hd channels on videocond2h?

  • VG

    ^^ No news at the moment.

  • [If we talk about SD channels, Dish TV beats Tata Sky. You'll find almost all TV channels in Dish TV whether its a popular channel or a less known local TV channel. But Tata Sky provides limited channels.]

    Dear VG
    Do u have any list/link that i can check it and buy. Actually i need to compare which channel is in there. Like u provide HD channel list,

    Don't take it otherwise.

    Adnan

  • @Adnan, Dish TV doesn't have Animax, Toonami, MagicBricks Now that Tata Sky has whereas Tata Sky doesn't have Neo Prime and Neo Sports that Dish have. In Nos and Quality ( Dolby Sound etc) of HD Channels, Tata Sky is Far Ahead of Dish

  • Thanks for the detailed information VG.

    Can you clarify if these True HD channels are broadcasted at 720p or 1080p ?

  • VG

    ^^ 1080p

    @Adnan
    Just check the packages details on their official websites and you'll find all channels names.

  • Gone are the days where we use to pay around 150-200 for local Cable TV and get 90% of most channels that were around that time. There were hardly 50-60 channels those days in the late 1996-99 or early 2000-2001.

    Now days we hardly get to watch any channels. We may land up max to max watching any one channel for around 60 mins or a movie maybe for 2.5 hours with 1.5 hours of useless advertising.

    In the name of Digitization & maximum channels & HD channels these companies are looting the lay man of around 460 per month (which dont even include HD Channels and English Entertainment, News & Movie Channels) TataSky alone charge 175 for HD channels. So even if you are on Ala Carte and have subscribed to just 3 HD channels. You have to shell out 175 for those 3 channels just to watch them in HD. If you work out the maths. 175 premium for 59 HD Channels. They should be charging just 10 rupees EXTRA for 3 HD Channels extra apart from the subscription price of those channels (As per TATASKY RULES). BUT THEY STILL WANT THE ENTIRE 175 for it.

    No doubt you are paying for excellent service & quality but its a very high price to pay.

    TATA SKY's TOP END PACKAGES
    400 (BUMPER |Without any ENGLISH CHANNELS) + 175(HD FEE) = 575 Rupees
    530 (ULTRA WITH ENGLISH CHANNELS) + 175(HD FEE) = STAGGERING 705 Rupees

    WHAT A RIP OFF !!!

  • I think every one on TataSky who dont watch a lot of TV should go for the Ala Carte Package (Make my Pack)

    I use to pay 650 Rupees 2 years ago....
    After seeing that there's no value for money i decided to change & go Ala Carte.

    I realized that on an average we just watch 5-6 channels only the entire month. Max only surfed 2-3 channels a day....

    Both me & my spouse work..we hardly get time to speak to each other in the week let alone making the time to sit and watch TV.

    I worked out that the only channels being watched in my household were
    SONY
    COLORS
    LIFE OK
    ZEE TV

    The above watched mostly by parents & by spouse occasionally on holidays....

    NDTV 24*7 (English)
    STAR SPORTS 1
    STAR SPORTS 4
    The above by me..

    So why was I paying 575 Rupees a month for only 8 channels monthly.....Makes you think. Right.

    I moved on to Ala Carte.

    TataSky's rule says (Note: Minimum subscription value of Rs 165 is mandatory for A-la-carte channels )

    So here it is the break up on Ala Carte for the same channels above.

    SONY - 30 Rupees
    COLORS - 20 Rupees
    LIFE OK - 20 Rupees
    ZEE TV - 20 Rupees
    NDTV 24*7 (English) - 15 Rupees
    STAR SPORTS 1 - 50 Rupees
    STAR SPORTS 4 - 50 Rupees

    Come to a total of 205 rupees. Surpassing the mandatory 165 minimum subcription value)

    All the above channels come with their equivalent HD Channels.. So i am paying an additional
    175 Rupees for these 7 channels only...

    205 + 175 = 380. So thats what i pay every month with 7 HD Channels.

    It saves me 195 rupees a month. Saved me almost 4700 in the last 2 years. After which with the same savings i bought a TATA SKY HD+ BOX (recording function).

    So no i can even afford to miss any shows (Go for a walk with my spouse or spend time with family)
    or prime time news or any football games which come on late at night and watch them at my own convenience any time i want.

    THE ABOVE IS ADVISABLE FOR HOUSEHOLDS THAT DON'T WATCH A LOT OF TV.

  • Any new channels you want YOU CAN add instantly in seconds by SMS..
    New channels that you add get LOCKED-IN for a 30 day period.
    Once you surpass the 30 day LOCK-IN period , you can remove & add other channels at will.

    You are still counted in for any offers available on your account.

    For e.g Sony Six HD during IPL's was on offer for 10 Rupees a month.
    I took it up and after the IPL was over. I took it off.

    Just log on to mytatasky.com, register your subscriber ID & Mobile no and you are good to go.

  • @Kev ADTV suits u better than Tata sky, he reason being i am also on Ala Carte and i pay 283 for channels more than you, the reason being ADTV doesnt charge extra for HD channels i.e. 125 which you pay. in ADTV if u add a HD channel onkly that will come for that charge, so i am enjoying 13HD channels plus few SD channels like news, some old movie channel all that for 283, see the breakup of my ala carte. plus it provides all the regional channels of any region life time free.

    DD Rajyasabha Life Time Free
    Rs.0.00

    Recording topup free
    Rs.0.00

    AAJ TAK Free topup
    Rs.4.00

    CHANNEL V Free topup Rs.2
    Rs.1.00

    NDTV India Free topup Rs.5
    Rs.4.00

    News 24 Free topup Rs.3
    Rs.1.00

    On Demand TV free topup Apr-13
    Rs.0.00

    Star Sports HD 1 Free Topup May-13 Rs.50
    Rs.50.00

    TIMES NOW Free topup Aug-13 Upfront NRC Rs.15
    Rs.15.00

    Masti TV Free topup Aug-13
    Rs.1.00

    Zee Classic Free topup Aug-13 Upfront NRC Rs.20
    Rs.20.00

    B4U MUSIC Free topup Aug-13
    Rs.1.00

    ETC Free topup Aug-13
    Rs.3.00

    DD Madhya Pradesh Free Topup Oct-13
    Rs.0.00

    HD Customer identification Topup
    Rs.0.00

    Hindi Plus HD Topup(14 channels) Dec-14
    Rs.111.00

    Hindi Regional Lifetime Free Topup
    Rs.0.00

    Punjabi Regional Lifetime Free Topup
    Rs.0.00

    Bengali Oriya Regional Lifetime Free Topup
    Rs.0.00

    Marathi Regional Lifetime Free Topup
    Rs.0.00

    Telugu Regional Lifetime Free Topup
    Rs.0.00

    Kannada Regional Lifetime Free Topup
    Rs.0.00

    North East Lifetime Free Topup Apr-15
    Rs.0.00

    Tamil Lifetime Free Topup Apr-15
    Rs.0.00

  • I& B Ministry has recenltly , after 31st Jan 2016, cleared these channels for Launch : Sab Bangla; Sab Tamil; Sab Punjabi; Sab Marathi; Sab Telugu; Sony Wah; Sony Rox; Jewel Alliance; Star Utsav Movies (Earlier:Star Gold Romance); Maa HD;  Jalsha Movies HD; Star Jalsha HD; Maa Movies HD;  Star Pravah HD; Star Movies Premiere; Star Movies Premiere HD; Fox Crime HD; Rishtey Cineplex; Stay Raw; And Vijay Super.

    Any information on which of these channels are ready to launch or re branded ? Cineplex Ristey is already launched . Any other channel launched from these ?

  • VG

    ^^ Star Vijay HD, Star Jalsha Movies HD, Star Jalsha HD and Star Pravah HD are already running under testing and are ready to launch on April 14th.

  • Star Jalsha HD and Jalsha Movies HD Launched today and added today itself on Tata Sky. Both Bangla Channels launched on Bangla New Year. Channel Nos. 841 & 846 respectively on Tata Sky

  • Dear VG,

    Please Update the
    .... ' list of winners based on maximum number of HD channels is as following:

    1st - Tata Sky (59)- Change this to 61 w.e.f. 14-Apr-16
    2nd - Dish TV (50)
    3rd - Airtel Digital TV (44)
    4th - Videocon D2H (42)
    5th - Sun Direct (16)
    6th - Reliance Digital TV (12)
    7th - DD Direct+ aka Free Dish (0)

  • VG

    ^^ Oops. My bad. I forgot to update that. Thanks for the heads up. :)

  • What happened to Star Vijay HD launch which was supposed to be on April 14th?

  • Why does Videocon d2h provide so less hd channels?

  • Hi,
    Please update your list with MOVIES NOW HD is added to Airtel from today. it is coming with Dolby Digital Audio.

  • VG please let me know which dth provider provides max. HD content at minimum cost.
    Also let me know which dth is economical (low budjet, many channels) ?
    Which dth can withstand poor climate conditions?

  • VG

    ^^ Here are the answers:

    1. I think Dish TV. Better you check packages details on various DTH websites.
    2. Videocon and Dish TV.
    3. No DTH. You'll get signal outage in poor weather conditions in all DTH.

  • Dish TV has added Miniplex Cinema this week but not in HD but in SD

  • I am from Middle East, using Dish TV TrueHD+. Tata Sky wont work here, Our one local person who sells DTH services said that replace my DTH with Airtel. He said Airtel has lot more channels (HD & Non HD) than Dish TV. Example I dont get any DD channel on Dish TV. I want all DD channels. Pls suggest me whether to replace with Airtel or be with Dish TV?

  • tatasky hd or tatasky hd 4k witch is best steupbox for smart ultra hd ( 4k) 43inch tv

  • VG

    ^^ Currently there are no 4K channels so its better to go with HD+ Transfer box which comes with recording facility.

    @Sai
    Dish TV has more HD channels than ADTV. You can check the above chart.

  • Star Pravah HD being launched this Sunday , 1st May being the Maharashtra Day

  • VG

    ^^ Not only Star Pravah HD but Colors Marathi HD is also going to add on Tata Sky on 1st May.

  • Do you have any info about Star Vijay HD launch ?

  • VG

    ^^ Star Vijay HD is already running under testing but official launch date has not been announced yet.

  • Hi VG,

    Can you tell me whether Veideocon DTH is going to add more HD channels in coming days? Earlier videocon has the highest no. of HD channels but now TATA sky has. Shall I change the service provider to TATA sky now or wait for few more days?

  • @Pradeep, I think u shd do that. I have migrated to TS from d2h this month exactly for this reason. TS is now well ahd of Dish TV also in terms of no of HD channels, it wl hv 63 frm 2mrw to Dish 50...But TS has no Neo Prime and Neo Sports

  • VG

    ^^ TS might add 4-5 HD channels very soon.

  • please tell me why videocon d2h is providing so less hd channels? they have increased their monthly rates too..
    please reply VG..

  • VG

    ^^ There is no news of any upcoming HD channel addition on Videocon D2H.

  • Dear VG,

    Would request you to update the para ' So if we look at the number, Tata Sky provides the maximum number of HD channels. Dish TV, Airtel Digital TV and Videocon D2H are close to it' to ' So if we look at the number, Tata Sky provides the maximum number of HD channels. Dish TV, Airtel Digital TV and Videocon D2H are NOWHERE close to it' As TS has 66 HD Channels to Dish's 50 HD Channels (16 Short of TS) , Airtel's 49 (17 Short of TS) and Videocon d2h 42 (24 Short of TS) .

  • VG

    ^^ lol. Kind of true. ;)

  • Hi,

    Any update on STAR VIJAY HD.. badly awaiting for it.. Experts plz put some light on Launch date. Thanks in advance.

  • VG

    ^^ There is no official launch date. The channel is currently under testing.

  • Star Jalsha HD , Jalsha Movies HD a7 Colors Bangla HD is still pending on dish tv where in TS & ADTV are broadcasting these three channels, Plz clear why it is happen with these Bengali regional channels.

  • VG

    ^^ It depends upon the DTH company. Dish TV and Videocon don't look in mood of adding any new HD channel atm.

  • @Sandipan, Dish TV is going to add Zee Marathi HD soon. They are likely to add Zee TV Regional Channels' HD Feed for Zee Kannad, Zee Tamil etc first as these are from their stable only. Dish has not added 2 Malayalam HD Channels though they were launched long back. Adding HD Channels from Star or Colours' stable is not their priority.

  • I only hope that Tata Sky adds Neo Sports and Neo Prime as French Open this month are on it. Even TDSAT also disposed the case of Neo Sports vs TS

  • hm, bad rules and strategy. Bad news for Bengali regional viewers.

  • star vijay hd on 29th may 2016

  • Tata Sky has added international news channels like France 24, NHK World, Australia Plus, Russia Today , DW, TV Monde Asia but why not Neo Prime and Neo Sports ?!?

  • VG

    ^^ Because they dont want to pay Neo for their sports channels.

  • Is it possible for a DTH Service Provider to arrange telecasting a particular sports event on its platform like French Open on Tata Sky ? As Tata Sky has 3 Separate HD channels like Star Sports ADD on HD1,2,3 that show matches of Bundesliga and EPL (on Saturdays ) that are not shown on Star Sports' regular 4HD +4 SD Channels, TS can similarly arrange French Open with Feed from French Tennis authorities or will it be infringement of Telecast Rights exclusively given to Neo so permission can't be sought or given ?!?

  • Channel Launching in Tata Sky

    Star Utsav Movie 21 May
    Star Vijay HD 29 May

    Source: Facebook Page of Tata Sky Updates Official

  • VG

    ^^ There is a new sports channel coming called "Star Sports Select HD" which might telecast different sports events on selection like pressing Red button on remote.

  • VG

    Neo Sports channels are coming back soon on Tata Sky. ;)

  • Thanks ,VG, That's a Gr8 Breaking News !!!! First informed by You and now Just read it on indiantelevision.com/dth/dth-operator/neo-sports-soon-available-on-tata-sky-160509......

    Tata Sky will be unbeatable now. There are no more Popular TV channels left to be demanded / pending to be launched by TS now. Cineplex and Cineplex movies from Colors' / Rishtey stable maybe the exceptions as of now

  • Music Now HD and Enjoy Now HD channels are launched now

  • Dear vg
    Any news on launch date of two telugu hd channels. "Maa tv hd", " maa movies hd".???

  • VG

    ^^ Not yet.

    @sri
    Those are not normal channels. They are only available on IPTV.

  • VG

    Neo Sports and Neo Prime channels will add tomorrow on Tata Sky. Some more channels may also add. ;)

    Big Magic HD channel is also going to launch very soon.

  • Dear VG,

    Star Utsav Movies launched today. Dish Channel No. 2204. Also on DD Free Dish. Surprised me that Star is launching FTA channels these days of HD Channels launch. Any Idea when Star Sports Select HD will be launched ?

    Rgds,

  • VG

    ^^ No launch date yet. By the way, BBC Earth HD is also under testing since a few days. ;)

  • ^That's a Great News, VG :BBC Earth HD is being tasted , thus can we can hope for it's launch on Tata Sky & Dish very soon ? Please inform how to know in advance when a channel being tasted.Is it shown on any channel ? sometimes Test Transmission used to be shown in earlier days when one came across it while surfing channels

  • VG

    ^^ Since this channel is from SPN, we cant predict when will it launched as they are too lazy in launching new HD channels. SAB TV HD is still pending. Regarding testing channels, you can get pre-information by searching on the satellite using FTA set top box. ;)

  • Dear VG,
    Please remove both the notes (Sony Kix & HBO). Both are there for almost 4 months or more.

  • Dear VG,

    As you informed that BBC Earth is from SPN, it's likely to be launched next month only after the IPL is over on 29th May .IPL is shown on Sony Channels only so they would not want the TRP /TVP of Max is affected by any 'distraction' /eating into viewership by the launch of any channels from their own stable like SAB HD or BBC Earth

  • VG

    ^^ May be. SPN is always known to be very slow in launching new channels.

  • VG

    Tata Sky has launched French Open Add On HD channel which is event-based channel and will telecast live Tennis matches. :)

  • This French Open HD channel #423 is showing in HD Feed whereas Neo Sports & Neo Prime on Ch #424 & 425 are showing on SD downscaled format. But the sound quality in the Channel #423 Add On French Sports is Very Poor. I wonder whether the HD will remain in Cricket also as Ten 1 HD is supposed to show both the Zimbabwe & West Indies tours in HD and Ten 3 ( Erstwhile Ten Cricket ) will show the cricket matches in Full Scale SD as the telecasting rights were with them.

  • VG

    ^^ Dish TV has also added French Open HD channel similar to Tata Sky. :)

  • Yes .Dish TV French Open HD on Channel 89. Perhaps Dish is getting up from their Deep Slumber on not adding HD Channels after getting 17 HD channels behind Tata Sky .Maybe they are not bothered on adding the Regional HD Channels ( 9 out of 17 HD Channels are Regional Channels ) but have to sit up as Sports is a Big Draw and TS has added Neo Sports and Neo Prime after 3 years just on the eve of French Open.Winning in TDSAT also helped TS for getting Neo. Let's hope Good Sense prevail on Dish on Adding remaining HD Channels as more HD Channels are going to launch soon :)

  • Dear “VG”, I'm noticing this issue since more than a month so I'm reporting it to you!

    You have added a plus (+) sign to Fox Life HD in Dish TV's column indicating it's available in "DD 5.1" on the DTH-platform while haven't added the same for Nat Geo Wild HD (interestingly, both of the channels are from same broadcaster) in its column. May I [kindly] know why? Because the reality is exactly opposite! While "5.1" audio-feed option is available for both channels but in the case of former, the response is just blank/mute sound while in case of latter, the audio [feed] changes and it's working perfectly fine! Being a legacy Dish TV subscriber (using current connection for more than a year), I complained about the Fox Life HD's case to them on Twitter months ago but it seems they're not worried after promising to fix it in a telephonic follow-up. :) :/ :|

  • Hi,
    Star Vijay HD is available on Airtel with Dolby Digital Audio.

  • VG

    ^^ Yep. Updated.

    @Maaz Kalim
    Fox Life HD doesnt provide DD+ 5.1 sound. It only provides DD sound.

Leave a Comment

(required)