How to Restore “Close Multiple Tabs” Warning Message (Confirmation Prompt) in Internet Explorer?

Recently we told you how to restore "close multiple tabs" warning message and confirmation prompt in Mozilla Firefox and now its turn of Internet Explorer users.

If you are an Internet Explorer user, you might have noticed that when you open more than one tab and click on Close button, the browser shows a message box asking for your confirmation as shown in following screenshot:

Internet_Explorer_Close_Multiple_Tabs_Confirmation_Prompt.png

The message box also contains a checkbox "Always close all tabs". If you accidentally or intentionally enabled the checkbox while clicking on Close all tabs button, the browser will not show the warning message next time you try to close multiple tabs and will immediately close the window.

Now the question comes how to restore the warning message and confirmation prompt so that we don't lose our running tabs if we accidentally click on Close button in future?

Here comes the solution! Internet Explorer provides a simple option in its Settings window to restore this confirmation prompt. You can use following easy steps to restore the warning message in Internet Explorer:

1. Open Internet Explorer and click on Tools -> Internet Options.

2. It'll open Internet Options window. Now click on "Settings" button present in Tabs section:

IE8_Internet_Options.png

3. It'll open Tabbed Browsing Settings window. Now enable "Warn me when closing multiple tabs" option:

IE8_Tabbed_Browsing_Settings.png

4. That's it. Click on OK button and it'll restore the warning message and confirmation prompt in Internet Explorer.

Did you already know this trick or is it a new one for you? Please feel free to share your comment with other readers...





Share this article: Facebook | Twitter | Google+ | Reddit | Tell a friend

Posted in: Internet Explorer


Other similar articles that may interest you


Comments

  • This confirmation message box is a life saver. I find myself closing IE all the time, without realizing I have more than one tab running. I like that you have to confirm before it closes, which can help you from losing important data. Do you know if there is another way you can safe-guard your tabs, besides this confirmation message?

  • VG

    ^^ I dont think any other similar option available in IE. May be a 3rd party add-on will help?

  • I tried restoring the warning on my dad's computer for him like 3 times and it doesn't work! Any more suggestions?

  • I am using windows 8.1 and I see totally different options in Tools/Internet Options. My question is actually different and would make that warning unnecessary. Simply allow a second check box that when selected, will set the default to ALWAYS close only the current tab.

  • Can this be done on IE 11 the app? (Not the desktop version). I can't seem to find the same "tools" or "settings" page.

  • Thank you for your help. This saves a lot of frustration and work being erased.

  • This helped, thanks.

Leave a Comment

(required)