How to Enable Folder Merge Conflict Message in Windows 8 and Later?

In previous Windows versions, if you try to copy or move a folder and if the destination folder already contains a sub-folder with the same name, Windows shows a confirmation message about folder merge conflict. The message tells you that a folder in the destination folder and the folder which you are trying to copy or move have same names. You are asked whether you want to merge the folders or not?

But Microsoft changed this behavior in Windows 8 and later OS. By default this folder merge conflict message is hidden so you don't see any confirmation message about folder replacement.

If you want to re-enable the folder merge confirmation message in Windows 8 or later Windows versions, following steps will help you:

1. Open Windows Explorer and click on View tab present in the ribbon.

2. Now click on Folder Options icon present at the end of the ribbon toolbar.

3. It'll open Folder Options window. Now go to "View" tab.


4. Here you'll see an option "Hide folder merge conflicts". It would be enabled by default. Uncheck the option and apply the changes.

5. That's it. Now whenever the destination folder contains a folder with the same name, you'll be asked for folder replacement confirmation as shown in following screenshot:


Personally I keep the option disabled as it helps me in getting the confirmation prompt before merging folders. What's your opinion about this feature? Do you also turn it off? Feel free to share your comment...

Share this article: Facebook | Twitter | Google+ | Reddit | Tell a friend

Posted in: Troubleshooting, Windows 10, Windows 8 / 8.1

Other similar articles that may interest you


  • nice finding

  • No VG , I already had folder merge conflict enabled when I installed windows 8

  • Wow, that's so stupid to create an option like this and enable it by default...

  • This was unchecked - enabled - by default on my Windows 8 Pro system.
    What is checked directly below this option is the "Hide protected operating system files"

  • @Norbert (Bob) Gostischa

    Vishal failed?

  • VG

    ^^ lol. The option comes enabled by default in Windows 8. If its not enabled in a system, that means the user manually disabled the option or a 3rd party software disabled it.

    PS: You can try to restore default settings by clicking on "Restore defaults" button given in Folder Options and see yourself the option will get enabled again if its somehow disabled in your system. ;)

  • ^^NO, VG is Right

    All the 4 Hide options shown in the above SS are enabled by default.

    If its disabled in your OS then it must be bcoz of some 3rd party software or if your Windows came preloaded with your PC/laptop then the Manufacturer may have disabled it.

  • Nice info. I find a nice topic for me. Thank you VG.

  • Its Unchecked by default but no message box for confirmation merging....on a clean installed Windows 8 Retail...not Pre-Installed..

Leave a Comment