Google Shows “Your computer appears to be infected” Message at the Top of Google Search Results Page

If you are seeing "Your computer appears to be infected" message in a yellow warning box at the top of Google Search Results page, you should definitely scan your computer with a good anti-virus and anti-spyware.

Google has announced that it'll show the above mentioned warning message to computers that are infected with a particular strain of malicious software, or malware. The warning message also contains a link to Google page which suggests you how to fix the infection.

Here is what Google says:

The Internet brings remarkable benefits to society. Unfortunately, some people use it for harm and their own gain at the expense of others. We believe in the power of the web and information, and we work every day to detect potential abuse of our services and ward off attacks.

As we work to protect our users and their information, we sometimes discover unusual patterns of activity. Recently, we found some unusual search traffic while performing routine maintenance on one of our data centers. After collaborating with security engineers at several companies that were sending this modified traffic, we determined that the computers exhibiting this behavior were infected with a particular strain of malicious software, or "malware". As a result of this discovery, today some people will see a prominent notification at the top of their Google web search results.

This particular malware causes infected computers to send traffic to Google through a small number of intermediary servers called "proxies". We hope that by taking steps to notify users whose traffic is coming through these proxies, we can help them update their antivirus software and remove the infections.

Google_Warning_Search_Results.png

Note that:

  • The malware appears to have gotten onto users' computers from one of roughly a hundred variants of fake antivirus, or "fake AV" software that has been in circulation for a while. Google isn't aware of a common name for the malware.
  • A couple million machines are affected by this malware.
  • Most people might think about the potential for an attacker to copy our notice and attempt to point users to a dangerous site instead. It's a good security practice to be cautious about the links you click, so the spirit of those comments is spot-on. The notice appears only at the top of our search results page. Falsifying the message on this page would require prior compromise of that computer, so the notice is not a risk to additional users.

Nice initiative by Google. What do you think? Please post your opinion in your comment...





Share this article: Facebook | Twitter | Google+ | Reddit | Tell a friend

Posted in: Gadgets & Internet


Other similar articles that may interest you


Comments

Leave a Comment

(required)