How to Close or Delete Your Email or Social Network Accounts Permanently?

NOTE: All spam comments removed and topic closed.

Do you want to delete your exiting email ID? Do you have some unused email accounts which you no longer use and want to close them? Do you get lots of spam emails in your email account and want to delete your account permanently?

We are sure there are many people who face such problems and want to completely remove their email IDs for obvious reasons. Actually many times we create e-mail IDs on various e-mail service providers just for fun and after some time we realize that its of no use. We should delete those e-mail IDs so that other people can get those IDs.

The same thing applies to social networking websites such as Facebook, Twitter, Google Plus, Orkut or LinkedIn.

The good things is that almost all e-mail service providers and social networking websites provide a way to permanently delete your account but most of the time such options are not accessible directly and you need to find them by going through various steps.

Today in this topic, we are going to provide direct links to delete / close your accounts at various email service providers and social networking websites which are mentioned below:

  • Hotmail or MSN or Windows Live or Outlook
  • Yahoo!
  • GMail or Google+ Profile or Google Account
  • Orkut
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • LinkedIn

So without wasting time, lets list the direct links to delete email and social networking accounts:

Hotmail or MSN or Windows Live or Outlook:

1. Open following link:

Delete MSN, Hotmail, Outlook or other Windows Live Account

If the above link doesn't work for you, go to following link:

Close Account

2. Enter your mail ID and password.

3. Click on "Close account" button.

4. Your account will be reserved for 270 days so that if you want to re-activate it, you can do within 270 days. After 270 days it'll be deleted permanently and you'll not be able to re-activate it.

Yahoo:

1. Just head on to:

Delete Yahoo! Account

2. Enter the credentials and confirm the request. Your account will be deleted within 90 days.

GMail or Google+ Profile or Complete Google Account:

1. Open following link:

Delete GMail Account

2. Enter your username and password.

3. Click on the checkbox and enter another e-mail address which you want to use to log into your Google account to access other Google services.

4. Enter your password and click on "Remove Gmail" button and your GMail account will be deleted within 2 business days.

Once your GMail account is deleted, you'll not be able to re-activate it or to retrieve messages.

PS: If you want to close or delete your Google+ profile or whole Google account, then check following links:

Delete Google+ Profile

Delete Google Account

Orkut:

1. Open following link:

Delete Orkut Account

2. Enter your username and password.

3. Click on the checkbox and enter your password. Now click on "Remove orkut" button and your Orkut account will be deleted.

Facebook:

1. Log into your Facebook account and click on "Account -> Account Settings" link given in the right corner.

2. It'll open Settings page. Click on "deactivate" link under "Deactivate Account" section.

OR you can directly click on following link to deactivate your Facebook account:

Deactivate Facebook Account

3. Select any desired option in "Why are you deactivating:" section and click on "Deactivate My Account" button.

PS: Above procedure will only deactivate your account. If you want to permanently delete your Facebook account, use following link instead:

Delete Facebook Account Permanently

Thanks to our reader "Conor Duffy" for mentioning the above link...

Twitter:

1. Log into your Twitter account and click on "Settings" link given in the right corner.

2. It'll open Account Settings page. Click on "Deactivate my account" link given at the end of the page.

OR you can directly click on following link to deactivate your Twitter account:

Delete / Deactivate Twitter Account

3. It'll ask for confirmation, again click on "Okay, fine, deactivate my account" button.

LinkedIn:

1. Log into your LinkedIn account and click on "Settings" link given in the right corner.

2. It'll open Settings page. Click on "Close Your Account" link under "Personal Information" section.

OR you can directly click on following link to deactivate your LinkedIn account:

Delete / Deactivate LinkedIn Account

3. Select any desired option in "Close Account Reason" section and click on "Continue" button.

That's it. Using above mentioned simple steps you'll be able to delete your email or social networking website account quickly and easily.





Share this article: Facebook | Twitter | Google+ | Reddit | Tell a friend

Posted in: Emails & Messengers, Troubleshooting


Other similar articles that may interest you


Comments